Unfolding Knowing

For We Write Poems poetry prompt: Write Here, (bigger) Now
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Unfolding Knowing

Leave white plastic pillbox
on desk, eagerly grab camera
instead. Drive across town
to sister’s patio, retreat
and refuge.


Sits in beige pot on glass
table top, surrounded by
own sisters of slightly
different hue.

Draws eye with effortless
ease, begs me move closer.
Wears red, color of passion,
crimson like cardinal, burns
scarlet of creative fire.


Petals unfolding in delicate
natural curve, lightly hold
promise of rebirth, there
at her center.


Laugh, as once again sit
at desk. Touch hard plastic
pillbox, realize I too, hold
passion of creative fire,
sometimes sing with cardinal,
and know essence of rebirth
right here in soul, unfolding
deep at center.

Elizabeth Crawford  6/29/11

Process Notes: Before I read the prompt, I went to my sister’s for our weekly get together. Her yard is a beautiful refuge, decorated with flowers, ceramic critters, and lush dense trees. Told her about writing about Mom’s pillbox, and she told me of her own similar feelings and thoughts (she has one of Mom’s boxes, as well). Took several pics before we went for a leisurely drive to the water fowl sanctuary near her home, and sat in the sun and fresh air, watching the Canada geese and their now teen-aged offspring. Leaving the car in my home parking lot, I heard my friend the cardinal and whistled back at him. We shared a few verses. Came inside to read the prompt: leave, go outside, look at what you see, describe it, then write about it. I knew immediately what I wanted to write about.

Thanks to Pamela for the prompt, and to Susannah at I Saw Sunday for the practice of merging photos and verse.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Unfolding Knowing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unfolding Knowing

  1. nan says:

    Unfolding Knowing. That is an excellent title. I enjoyed the process notes. I like the way you take a trip from the concrete pillbox at the beginning, through this fantastic journey of color and beauty, and back with a “glance” to the concrete pillbox and the realization of the central experience within “reality”

    Thank you Nan. I have often thought that writing is a means of connecting on internal and external levels. Now with the camera, I can add another level of meaning. Glad you enjoyed.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Oh so lovely synchronicity of experience and prompt!

    Don’t you just love it when that happens? Thanks Annell,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Irene says:

    This is the last of your pillbox series? It draws the eye and the reader in. Life is passion, passion is life. Yes!

    Yes and thanks for noticing. I wanted to connect the two prompt experiences together. And you are so correct, life is passion. Thanks Irene,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. A slow zoom-in… nice idea and execution. Including the pictures made it relatable too.

    It was a happy accident. I took the pics and then the prompt seemed to ask for that same sort of progression. Thank you Joseph, and glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. margo roby says:

    I love how you allow us to unfold knowing with you through both verse and the pictures. The effect of zooming in is accentuated by the words and then the connection to you and the knowing you unfold. The last stanza is joyous.

    Just as that flower seems so joyous in simple being. Thank you Margo, for mentioning the Discussion, and for stopping by today,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Elizabeth, there is not much I can say, that hasn’t been said already. I love the pairing of the photos and your words.

    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela, for the prompts and the return to simple observation. We don’t always really see what we are looking at and make the connections that are all around us. And thanks for responding to the Collab as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. I too have been thinking of a mixture of poetry prose and photographs as a way of creating a memoir. Your success with this method is encouraging. A lovely, well observed piece of writing.

    Viv, as you know, the camera is new for me and I am really enjoying how it changes the way I see the world around me, somehow see it differently so make new and different connections. A different awareness if you will. I’m also enjoying marrying the photos to words and back again. Hope you try it, it really does inspire a different pespective.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. wayne says:

    did not know where the title was taking me….but took me to a good place…..thanks for sharing this

    Thank you Wayne, I identified strongly with your poem about dryness. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. brenda w says:

    This is a beautiful comingling of picture and verse. The zinnia is one of my favorite flowers because of the little blooming flowers at the center (in some varieties), I love that you capture that in word and picture both.

    ~Brenda

    Thanks much Brenda. My sister says they are Gerber Daisies. I wouldn’t know, just love looking and drinking in the colors. She has a huge yard and it is filled with flowers and wonderful little quiet corners, somewhat like a mini nature preserve. We spent a quarter of an hour out there, both trying to capture a pic of the smally yellow finches that flock to her feeders. No real luck, but we were both laughing by the time we were done. I swear the birds knew and only moved when we clicked the buttons on our cameras.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Oh I love every word and emotion in this…..so lovely…..eyes that SEE and then share the love………yippee! Write on!!

    Thank you Sherry, for your endless wealth of enthusiasm and support. You are so very welcome,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Susannah says:

    Wonderful, both images and words, and what a glorious ending! I love it. 🙂

    Susannah, that synchronicity helps a great deal and makes it so much easier to accomplish. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

