Early Morning Still Life

For Brenda’s Sunday Whirl Wordle #10
http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

Early Morning Still Life

In dissipating morning haze,
inhaling deeply, she silently
bends to pepper his face
with kisses, lips flitting
over surface of skin with
grace of a butterfly.

Hands ruffle, then re-shape
copper shaded hair, as toes
curl into sand, he whispers,

“Ah shucks, Mom.”

Elizabeth Crawford  6/26/11

Notes: Wordle words are pepper, kisses, sands, copper, grace, inhaling, shape, flitting, shade, silent, haze, surface. This one was half formed before I finished writing out the list of words. Thanks Brenda.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Early Morning Still Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Early Morning Still Life

  1. brenda w says:

    Good morning Elizabeth. Reading, I thought it might go a bit steamy, or romantic then up popped the boy. This is sweetness served up with kisses. I love it.
    ~Brenda

    And thanks for the words Brenda, they formed an immediate image that I found rather easy to follow (for once, lol).

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. b_y says:

    Cool!
    Super-neat twist. Makes the ruffle, reshape so fine in retrospect.

    Glad you like it B, I certainly loved your take on Grace. The end was really the beginning and what the words brought to mind as soon as I saw them,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    Clever, Elizabeth! Boy must have been a relatively young one, otherwise he wouldn’t have tolerated it so long. LOL.

    Lol, I looked as closely as possible, but his age kept changing, not his sentiment. Thanks Mary for being here and for your own fine interpretation of these words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. I love it, Elizabeth. Very sweet.

    Common too, Sherry, but couldn’t resist, lol. Love your Wild Woman Iris.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Oh my, what a beautiful picture you’ve created, Elizabeth.

    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela and yours was haunting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Mike Patrick says:

    What a lovely poem/vignette. The twist drives it home.

    It was fun, quick, and, like you said, sort of on auto-pilot. Thanks for your kind words and the ones on your own site,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Beautifully versed. Clever twist too. Lovely wordle.

    Thank you Daydreamertoo. Glad you liked it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Very sweet verse!

    Thanks Mad, maybe a bit too sweet?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Susannah says:

    Nicely done Elizabeth, I too loved the twist. 🙂

    Wordles are fun aren’t they? It is so good to see where each one will lead us. I am so glad I found the sunday wordle (through visiting you) so now that I can regularly play along too. 🙂

    Susannah, I didn’t like them when I first encountered them. I have a rebellious streak and didn’t like the idea of forming a poem around words chosen by someone else. I laugh when I think about it now. What foolishness that is. Each of us takes these words, and in our own fashion, makes them our own. That’s why each wordle poem is an individual piece, spoken in the poet’s voice, straight from his/her own thoughts and heart. I am so glad that you have added yours to the Whirl,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. irene says:

    Sweet picture and feeling with a twist. Nicely done.

    Like

  11. pmwanken says:

    After a couple re-reads, I saw the boy at various ages….so very sweet, Elizabeth. A well-wordled piece, indeed. ~Paula

    Like

  12. Renee Espriu says:

    Now or even a memory and they are never too old for a mother’s love. Beautiful, Elizabeth.

    Like

  13. Traci B says:

    Delightful portrait of a mother and son. I also expected it to be between spouses or lovers, right until that last line. Excellently done. 🙂

    Like

  14. Traci B says:

    Wonderful portrait of a mother and son. Like everyone else, I thought it was going to be about spouses or lovers, right up until the last line. Well done. 🙂

    Like

  15. margo roby says:

    Ah! Lovely, Elizabeth. Both characters drawn vividly in a few words. I am captured.
    margo

    Thank you Margo, I think yours might be my favorite from this particular group of words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, this is lovely. I love “grace of a butterfly”. And both my boys have red hair, so I loved “copper shaded hair”. I get “Oh Dad” a lot, so I identified with this one. You capture the joy of parenting.

    Richard

    Thank you Richard. The image came right along with the list of words. Would that all of them would come so easily. I really admired your poem about the grace of knowing one is loved and cherished. It’s good to hold these memories in a special pocket, to be taken out and reexamined at those times when love seems far removed and an impossible thing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

