The Breathing Space

For Brenda’s Wordling Whirl of Sundays #6: Wallace Stevens
http://sundaywhirl.blogspot.com/2011/05/wordle-6-wallace-stevens.html

The Breathing Space

Never afraid of twilight hour,
turning of day into mystery
play of light and shadow.

Sits on front porch rocking,
as unknown birds softly cry
against waning clarity.

Dandelion fluff leisurely spins
in evening breeze, like tiny wind
planets pushed toward home.

Final glints of fading fire
catch edge of tallest cattails
swaying at curve of driveway,

where he comes striding from
encroaching darkness. She is pleased
at thought that tomorrow they will rake

fallen leaves together.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/29/11

Notes: The wordle words seemed to beg for a bit of darkness, but that didn’t suit my mood. Wanted something softer, a breathing space. I am enamored by the twilight hour and have spent much time sitting in it, letting thoughts and vague dreams whirl like dandelion fluff.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in The Breathing Space and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Breathing Space

  1. Laurie Kolp says:

    Beautiful, Elizabeth…

    Thanks Laurie, I think twilight is one of the most beautiful pieces of the day,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. brenda w says:

    Elizabeth, This is lovely. I’m glad you were able to find light in the words, reading your piece brings the softness of contentment to the surface. Thank you for faithfully creating work with the wordles, and for your thoughtful comments on other’s work, as well. So glad you are along for the ride.
    ~Brenda

    Brenda, thank you for allowing the space to learn that maybe with a bit of time, one can learn to actually like and look forward to these word puzzles. I’m actually having a bit of fun with them. Thanks for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. pamelasayers says:

    Beautiful imagery in this, Elizabeth.I love that you went in a positive direction with these words. Twilight is my favourite time of day as well.

    Pamela

    Pamela, I think part of the fascination for me is that it has always held just a bit of the quality of magic about it. And as I wrote that, I had a flood of memories from childhood and playing outside in the summer at that time of day, hoping Mom wouldn’t call us in too soon, lol. Glad you liked it, and I certainly liked your piece on planetary rotation and flying.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Rocking on the front porch evokes wonderful feelings. I like twilite too. Such a peaceful time of day. Well done, my friend.

    Thanks Mary, and I certainly enjoyed your tribute to Memorial Day and its reality. Yes, twilight is that time of letting down, catching one’s breath, and finding a moment of peace,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Very nice! Everything seems to slow down. Confident that tomorrow will bring good things.

    Annell, it is certainly a time to find some form of relaxation. Thanks for your caring words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Isabel Bush says:

    makes me want twilight to come sooner so I can pay attention to it more. great imagery

    Thank you Isabel, glad you feel that way,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Love the dandilion stanza, Great job. Thanks for visiting my site.

    That seems to be everyone’s favorite. Thanks Henry,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. I so love the “tiny wind planets pushed toward home”….and the twilight and rocking on the porch. Loved the uplifting welcome of the striding person approaching to help rake leaves……….a lovely read, my friend.

    It was the image I saw when I read the words. Didn’t think it would work, but guess that it did. Thank you Sherry and welcome home,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Tilly Bud says:

    ‘dreams whirl like dandelion fluff’ belongs in this poem!! Fabulous turn of phrase.

    Think it attached itself after writing the poem, so got caught in the process notes. I like it too and plan on taking Viv’s suggestion. Working on it and thanks Tilly Bud,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. David King says:

    A very enjoyable read. The sense of oncoming twilight and eventual darkness is very well portrayed.

    Thank you David. That’s my favorite time of day,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. vivinfrance says:

    “vague dreams whirl like dandelion fluff.” Please put that into a poem of its own! This is one lovely interpretation of the words.
    ViV

    Thank you Viv. That one is definitely incubating. Really glad you liked it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Traci B says:

    Wonderful poem, Elizabeth. I love the images you put together here, especially the dandelions as wind planets.

    When I wrote down the words, I put the two together as one word, then realized my mistake. But, I already had the image so went with it anyway. Thanks for visiting Traci,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Mike Patrick says:

    Enchanting. Thank you for the trip.

    And thank you Mike, for taking it with me,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. b_y says:

    Glad you found a way to use wind planets as a concept. It was an enticing combination.
    I like what you’ve done–i’m a great fan of dandelions, also rocking, porches, twilight

    Ahh Barb, think that means we have a lot in common, and that pleases me no end,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Lovely poem. Wonderful imagery.

    Glad you like it, Madeleine. I do as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. margo roby says:

    The dandelion stanza is my favourite…but…until…I do love the ending. I like feeling as if everything is on the edge slightly out of focus until he comes into the picture.
    margo

    Yes, I thought it had gotten a bit too dreamy, and his striding made a great deal of difference. Gotta love those wordle words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Renee Espriu says:

    Very nicely done and flows so well. I really like this piece for your words take you there to that time and place.

    Thanks Renee, I like the feeling of this one. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, it’s just lovely. Once again, there’s something in each stanza that stands out for me, but I think my favorite is the “unknown birds” softly crying. And I love how it ends, thinking on tomorrow and togetherness.

    Richard

    Richard, I love the natural world, but never learned the proper names of things other than the most common. I spent an hour at the Nature Center this evening, listening to unknown birds crying and smiled at the echo of my own thoughts. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. Cathy says:

    beautiful poem, glad to see you were able to keep it positive on the end.

    Thank you Cathy, I like positive.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

