Soaking Wet

 

For A Wordling Whirl of Sundays
http://sundaywhirl.blogspot.com/

Today’s wordle of words: evaporation, tugs, seaweed, released, breathes, slides, water, river, supersedes, embroidered, mist, and tiny.

Soaking Wet

River of words slides
through our lives during
every breathing moment.
Embroiders them like lace
of clinging seaweed.

Released, become tiny tugs
of inspiration, pulling us into
ever-deeper water.

Superseded only by focused
concentration seeking that
perfect one, immediately
become mist, evaporating
in direct morning sunlight.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/8/11

Notes: Title is tongue in cheek feeling I get when I first look at Brenda’s list of words for the week. Sort of drowning, at least gasping for air. Then settle down and float with the flow. Never did master any form of swimming, other than the dog paddle and the dead man’s float. That I do really well.

Happy Mother’s Day to one and all!

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Soaking Wet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Soaking Wet

  1. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, this is wonderful. I really like what you did with the list. It does not surprise me that you would write about a ‘river of words,’ as your words do flow fast and furious like the mighty Mississippi! And yes, as we write, we go into ever deeper water. (Whether we like it or not! LOL)

    Thanks Mary, but the mighty Mississippi? Sometimes it feels like slow drops from the kitchen faucet, lol. But appreciate your generous compliments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. brenda w says:

    Gorgeous, lush, inspired. Your work amazes me, Elizabeth. The words flow like they came naturally to the piece. The last stanza carries truth– the paradox of intention. 🙂
    ~Brenda

    Brenda, I love metaphor, always have. Once I decided on that it wasn’t difficult to fill it out. Thank you for the word choices, they really worked well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Well done! I love it!

    Always glad to hear that, my friend,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. pamelasayers says:

    Elizabeth, a river of words, you definitely know to make them float. Great use of the words.

    Pamela

    Thanks Pamela, for a few minutes I thought a couple of them were bound to sink, but we worked it all out. Those tiny tugs really do a great job, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Those ‘tiny tugs of inspiration’ are what allows us to do the things we do best.

    Yes they are and do Stan. But, we don’t always see them that way, do we? Thanks for taking time to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Renee says:

    Describes many of the dreams I have so aptly, although the one short story on my Blog came from a dream so who would know. Your words are wonderfully connected here.

    Thanks much Renee, and there is so much to be culled from dreams, rich material for all sorts of writing. I often start with just that.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Oh Sister Wild Woman, I swim the same way you do. Cackle! Love this poem…….the seaweed, the morning mist. Lovely.

    Sherry so glad to give you that opportunity to cackle. We need to do that as often as possible,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. vivinfrance says:

    The metaphor in this is a powerful use of the wordle words. Bravo.

    Thanks so much Viv, glad you think so,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Mr. Walker says:

    I don’t know who you’re talking about, because you are not soaking wet. You nailed it. Great extended metaphor with words and water. You really got me at the end with evaporation; I think we’ve all felt that, the one that got away, slipping through our fingers like water.

    Richard

    Thank you Richard. I usually leave the title to the last, after the poem has taken me wherever it wants to take me. I love that river of words and don’t mind getting soaked on a regular basis. Speaking of which, I hope you don’t mind that I sort of jumped into your river for the WWP prompt this week. Couldn’t resist it and feel there may be more than one cento floating through its waves and ripples. Congratulations on The Poem of The Week, I for one, believe you more than deserved it (felt truly justified in my applause and appreciation of your work). Really good feeling, yes?

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

