Unsettled

 

For A Wordling Whirl of Sundays
http://sundaywhirl.blogspot.com/

Words from the wordle: train, aching, scribbling, thirst, revenge, visions, resilient, sustain, thrumming, animated, hillsides, whispered.

Unsettled

Pages fallen, ripped loose from unknown
book, are tease lacking pleasing
environment to give them context.

No more than nonsense scribblings,
yet, animate train of visions which
thirst after some sort of completion.

Somehow sustain aching whisper
of rolling hillsides filled with green
growing trees and other living things.

Seemingly seek revenge for violent
displacement with resilient thrumming
hum from long ago, only bits of vaguely

remembered, but unsettling experience.

Elizabeth Crawford  5/1/11

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Unsettled and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Unsettled

  1. pamelasayers says:

    Love where the words took you, Elizabeth. The third stanza is gorgeous.
    I am so happy to see you, and some of the folks from our community over at Brenda’s site, yay!

    Pamela

    Pamela, I remember the first time I was faced with a wordle. I didn’t like it and figured it was best to steer clear of them. Somewhere in the past few months, all of that has changed and I’ve actually learned to like them a bit, maybe more than a bit, lol. Thanks for stopping in and glad to see you today as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. brenda w says:

    Nicely done, Elizabeth! Something about that “resilient thrumming hum from long ago” spoke to me deeply. People rip up books to quiet ideas. Your initial stanza got me thinking.
    ~Brenda

    Brenda, I was thinking of things ripped out and thrown away because they seem foolish or empty of any real meaning. I wanted to invest them with something of value that might be sought out and even healed. I really like that idea about ripping up books to quiet the ideas within them. Very nicely put, and thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Renee says:

    An intensity of feeling that bring you along into the complexity of human nature.

    Renee, memory is a very slippery thing, yet plays an intrinsic role within each individual’s nature. Sometimes they come with ease, other times they must be coaxed forward with care. And either way, they always have threads of emotions hanging from them. Thank you for your astute observations,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    I love “No more nonsense scribblings…” and just have to reflect that never have I seen you do anything of the kind. Nice seeing you here too. I really miss NaPoWriMo.

    So do I, Mary, and have been thinking about you all day. Also have to say that you don’t see them because I clean them up or toss them out rather than post them, lol. Thanks so much for being here and being you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. I have been unsettled today with no soul card and totally NO inspiration for writing. Have been busy with necessary stuff though so at least accomplished something today. I love the “aching whisper of rolling hillsides filled with green”…….beautiful, Elizabeth. I hope to have a poem tomorrow. Ack!

    Sherry, just went and checked out your post. There’s a poem in there, honest, right there in that post. But, I know what you mean, it felt awkward all day today. Who would have thought we’d miss that mad race for daily words? We are sometimes rather strange creatures, are we not?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. I Like the dark edge to this piece.

    Thanks Stan, light or dark, words have a power and magic that constantly draw me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    That first line sets the tone beautifully.

    Tilly Bud, that first line came about because of the last line in a poem someone sent me. I mangled it a bit and once I put it on the page, it was just a matter of following Brenda’s choice of words. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Mary says:

    Ah yes, Elizabeth, we both really did NOT like wordles in the past. I am not crazy about them really, but sometimes they produce unexpected work from me, as did this particular set of words.

    Lol, Mary. I think I grabbed them because I was drowning in the silence of after NaPoWriMo shock that it was all over. However, the wordles themselves have begun to grow on me, maybe because I’ve settled down and not so worried about the outcome any more. Thanks for stopping and sharing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Wonderfully done! I am amazed at your use of words, like molten silver poured into the mold. What you have achieved is a perfect cast!

    Annell, speaking of casting, I am still waiting for warm weather so I can go fishing. I fish well with words for the most part, but I want on or near the water. That feeds me in ways nothing else can. Thanks for your wonderfully generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, this is lovely. Trying to make sense out of things out of context, looking to nature or our own natures to make meaning. You’ve really got me thinking with this one. An excellent response to the wordle.

    Richard

    Helloooooooooooo Richard. Thank you for that and for your kind words. I didn’t have a clue where this was going after the first line and was surprised at where it led and the thoughts it occasioned. I have a storage box of loose pages with my own writing on them. Sometimes have a hard time even figuring out what the hell I was thinking or even trying to say. I keep promising myself that I’ll haul the box out and start looking again, but it’s so much easier to ignore those strange bits of feeling I catch from that other me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. That was really good!

    Thanks Madeleine,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. vivinfrance says:

    Thrumming hum: this whole poem thrums – just gorgeous.

    Thanks Viv, but some of the credit must go to Brenda for the choice of words and where they led.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

