Bring On The Wonder

 

For NaPoWriMo day 4


Bring On The Wonder*

Our traveler awoke
because she had spoken
aloud. In the dream,
she had traveled deep
into a cave, not knowing
how she came to be there.
Had walked for seeming hours,
then realized that another
walked silently with her.

A stranger, but one
so familiar. As they walked
the stranger talked softly
of things only the traveler
could know. Of other dreams
she had had as a child,
places she would go,
things she would do.

Had been told, back then,
she must put away such things,
grow up, learn to help and to be
more like others. In the dream,
she turned to familiar stranger, asked,

“How could I have forgotten?”

Later, as she walked through the day,
she thought of the dream. Passing
a small house she heard music drifting
from within. Stopped to listen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMxwaoR-Re8

Moving on, the song’s refrain
kept playing through her mind. With soft tears,
she heard its words slip from her lips,

Bring on the wonder, bring on the song,
I’ve pushed you down deep in my soul
for too long…*

Elizabeth Crawford  4/4/11

*Bring on The Wonder by Susan Enan, sung by Sarah McLachlan.
To hear original version by Susan Enan with posted lyrics, click here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zb0x4_2xocY&feature=related

Soul Cards: Both galleries may be found here: 
http://www.touchdrawing.com/3SoulCards/SC1/SC1gal.htm

They were created by Deborah Koff-Chapin, and she can be found here:
http://www.touchdrawing.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Bring On The Wonder and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bring On The Wonder

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I need to come back and read this again. Your thoughts are beautiful.

    Viv, the poem sprang at me as though it had been waiting forever. Then I got scared because it was so different. But, it is my truth, so it gets put out there. Thanks so much for your words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. This journey is amazing, and the Soul Cards are brilliant.

    Thank you Stan, that means a great deal, coming from you. And I totally agree on both counts.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. andy sewina says:

    Dead good! Interactive poetry may well be the way forward!

    Andy, you could be correct. I don’t know. My daughter found the song several days ago and had me listen to it. It took me deep inside and I believe the poem was a result of that. I wanted to make sure I honored the experience. Music has long been one of the strongest voices of my own soul. Even before I understood what soul was. It has played an integral part in my Soul’s Journey.Thanks for your comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. That was lovely!

    Thank you, Madeleine. I thought so, as well and only hoped that someone would agree.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Ron. says:

    Great tuen in a great poem. Tale and a half, interactively told. Cool.

    Ron, what clinched it for me was when I found the Sarah McLachlan version, and the image was a dead on echo of the image I had chosen from the Soul Cards. Synchronicity, I love it. Thanks for the ‘Cool’, it will go in the kudo box.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Tilly Bud says:

    There’s a rare gentleness to this poem.

    Thank you so much Tilly Bud. I believe that comes from the awe of the child that dwells within me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. brenda w says:

    Beautiful piece. I agree with Tilly, gentleness covers the piece. Your continuing journey is inspired. Well done!

    Thank you for your generous words, Brenda. I am so grateful I decided to do this.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, what can I say, but, oh my this is anything, but short of gorgeous.
    How you came to such a beautiful place with that image is amazing. I love Sarah McLachlan.
    Journey on my friend.

    Pamela

    Like

  9. wayne says:

    very cool….like what you have done…..the GREAT Sarah for sure…thanks for sharing this

    Thank you Wayne, and I have a feeling there may be a few more of these.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Elizabeth! Just “wow!” I was careful not to read yours till I wrote what the image sparked in me………glad I waited. SO beautiful!!!!! Love the song by Sarah – she has a house on the beach in Tofino, you know. But lives in Vancouver, where she opened a music center to teach the impoverished and talented kids of the east side. She also does a lot of supporting SPCA on behalf of the animals. She is a beautiful girl!!!!!!!

    Like

  11. I’m back again to thank you for participating in my latest Limerick-Off. I enjoyed you limerick and hope you’ll be a regular. (I post a new Limerick-Off every Sunday or Monday.)

    Hi Madeleine, I’m not much of a Limerick person, enjoy them on occasion, and do like reading what others do. You will certainly see me again,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. This poem is a profound experience. Thanks.

    Thank you Sandy, that’s quite a statement. I’m glad that you feel that way. It was the same for me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

