Musty Minutes

 

For We Write Poems prompt: Musty Minutes
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Musty Minutes

Must admit, don’t have time
for those dust covered memories.
Layered beneath time’s fine tissue,
folded and faded with yellowed
stains, amidst sepia-tinted images
of other lives long past. Leaves
so dried they crack with brittle
sound, fall to ground like brushed
away ashes.

Too busy just breathing in new
scents, sounds mounting up
in moist present moments.
Reaching for colors that dance
with chance for completion.

Maybe, when I am really old,
feeble from too long living,
might explore those musty
moments, let them slip, like
worry beads, through fingers
no longer steady enough
to grasp anything else.

Elizabeth Crawford  3/30/11

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Musty Minutes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Musty Minutes

  1. margo roby says:

    I like the echo of musty and must. And you may never be that old. My mother at 82 isn’t looking back and I’m not sure my grandmother, who lived until she was 99, ever did either. You may always look towards “colors that dance”.
    margo

    My mother, who passed away at 91, sometimes got lost in the memories, especially in the last few years of her existence. I have seen many do the same. At 64, I would hope to continue reaching for the colors, for as long as possible. Thanks for your comments Margo,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Oh I so love your poem – and Margo’s comment! I love the idea of the memories being like worry beads….and of the present being more vibrant than the past – me, too! I love this poem, Elizabeth. It is such a good one.

    And I love your eagerness Sherry. Thank you my friend for you continuing support,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I love the optimism in this piece, looking toward the colours, just lovely.
    Wonderful poem.

    Pamela

    Pamela, at the moment, I feel very much alive and reaching. That has to have carried me through the poem. I like it as well and thanks for commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Susannah says:

    I like this very much Elizabeth.

    Thank you Susannah, I like yours as well. I remember those feelings.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Mike Patrick says:

    The poem’s outlook will take one far. There is always time to look back.

    Thank you Mike, but at my age I don’t want to waste my time looking back. There is still so much to do.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Brenda says:

    Elizabeth, Your words carry hope. This poem makes me feel good inside. I’m glad it came quickly, and just as it did. Beautiful! Thanks, ~Brenda

    Actually Brenda I think your crows migrated over here. Thank you and glad you enjoyed it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Irene says:

    Your sentiments resonate with me Elizabeth. Well said well said.

    (Oh and what a panic I was in last night because of you know what)

    Sorry about the panic. I’m glad, however that you enjoyed the poem. Certain words seem to set off triggers, don’t they?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, I like your take on this. Not having time for the musty moments….way to go. I never thought I would either, but life changes things. I’d much rather be ‘breathing in new scents.’

    I understand what you are saying. I only hope the feelings last for a while. I saw a pair of Pelicans yesterday and played with some colors. That had a lot to do with the making of this poem. Thanks for commenting and hugs, my friend,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. vivinfrance says:

    Elizabeth, this is one lovely poem. I am still “reaching for colours that dance”, literally as well as metaphorically. But it’s true that as I get old, old memories are so much more vivid than new ones. Short term memory loss with ageing is sometimes quite a handicap!

    Viv, they say that when people die before their time, their lives pass before their eyes in a few flashing moments. I sort of look forward to this slower version that old age allows us. That might be because I have resolved the most painful ones. I have called myself an old woman several times over the past few months. I was wrong. I really haven’t gotten there yet and this poem, and where it took me, proved that better than anything else. And you, my friend, are using all of those vivid memories as inspiration for writing. That alone holds so much promise for all of us,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. wayne says:

    nicely done Elizabeth…..thanks for your words

    And thank you for yours, Wayne,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. What a beautiful poem!

    Thank you Madeleine, it really came out of the moment I was in. I like beautiful, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

