Both Ways

 

Inspired by jaime lluch

 For Writers Island prompt: Unlimited
http://writersisland.wordpress.com/

Both Ways (1 thru 12 and 12 thru 1)

Vast

Open

Infinite

Unrestrained

Unconditional

Without fetters, tethers

Lacking all definition

Reaching out into forever

Movement unrestrained by fences

Senses alert, tuned in all directions

Obliterating logic and reason

Are we prepared, actually ready for this?

And if we are ready, who will choose to go first?

Leap out in front, cutting all ties possible

Threads of connections to past and future?

Free, yes, but to go where, to do what?

Only Eternity is known

For its unlimited space

Of possibilities

Innumerable

Countless choices

To be made

Each day

Choose.

Elizabeth Crawford  3/26/11

Process Notes: Loved the Image and wanted to use this new form 1 thru 12. Start with one syllable word, add one syllable to each line. When I got to the last line, I knew I wasn’t done yet, so decided to move from 12 back to 1 and make a new pattern moving both ways.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Both Ways and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Both Ways

  1. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I love how you use this form. “Free, yes, but to go where, to do what?” I have felt that way many times in my life.

    Pamela

    Pamela, there is a reason for limits, especially in a finite world. I love the form and it is really effective when one is dealing with a specific issue of topic. Thanks for stopping,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Freedom can require lots of choices. Nicely done.

    Anthony, I think most people feel that freedom means a limitless ability to move in any direction, most often forgetting that each freedom entails new responsibility, which means some limits of one kind or another. In that first fresh feel of freedom, it is so easy to ignore that. Thanks for stopping by,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Oh this is so wonderfully written. Love the form, and the choice of words is really masterful.

    Thanks Sherry. Masterful? I’ll have to think about that one, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    I like the way you’ve used the form, Elizabeth. It’s more difficult to write coherently when there are restrictions.

    Thanks Tilly Bud and I think you’ve stumbled upon why I steer clear of Iambic Pentameter, lol. I’m not always coherent. Actually this form seems to demand that somehow. It’s not as easy, or as difficult as one might think.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Meryl Jaffe says:

    I liked this! If you ask me, taking risks is a great way to grow.

    Welcome Meryl. Glad you like it. To my way of thinking, risks are absolutely necessary for any inner growth to take place. Otherwise, we just get too comfortable and stop the process, then stay there out of fear of the discomfort that change will bring. I think that’s why I did the poem in this manner. Going both ways, but still ending on the word Choose.

    Thanks for stopping and reading,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    Elizabeth, I love the challenge you pose. Can we leave behind the need for structure? Those are real questions you ask.

    Irene, thanks for putting your sense into this. Sometimes structure can be confining. Sometimes it can also invite more. Up to us to choose our own structure. Mine will always have doors and windows,lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Wow! Very nice write! I love it!

    Thank you Annell. Always smile when I see your name appear here.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Mike Patrick says:

    I believe that you created an unlimited bump. It looks like fun, but it has to be difficult.

    Actually Mike, I didn’t find it all that hard. One needs a good vocabulary, or a wonderful dictionary, however. I was counting syllables on my fingers, having flashbacks of second grade math, lol. Thanks for commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. vivinfrance says:

    Elizabeth, I left a comment but it disappeared. I find that the discipline of writing to a form liberates the mind, in a paradoxical way. I look at some of my free verse (and sometimes other people’s) and think that it resembles that blobby stuff that kids play with, amorphous, ungainly and unbeautiful.

    Ahh Viv, to that child with his/her Silly Putty, it is beautiful simply for having been dreamed of. I was mentored by a well known Whitman scholar, and find breath line a structure that holds its own form of beauty. However, since coming to the poetry circuit, meeting wonderful poets like yourself, I am very quickly learning a great deal about form and structure. And, I must admit, I feel that child-like glee of the Silly Putty Artist, when my playing actually looks like what I intended. I do so love to learn and thank you for being one of my favorite teachers. Want a big shiny apple?

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

