1 thru 12 The True Story

 

For We Write Poems poetry prompt: Rone Street Art in Australia
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Street Art by Rone

 

1 thru 12  The True Story

Here,

your face

centered

in depression

of soot smudged bricks.

Black and white, red scratches,

like blood, drip from open eyes

as you look out upon a world

that wants to think you somehow asked

for this. Your silence never really seen

as forced upon you, viewed as active

complicity. When will they hear the true story?

Elizabeth Crawford  3/22/11

Note: Found this poetic structure at Kim Nelson’s site.
http://www.kimnelsonwrites.com/2011/03/22/1-thru-12-surviving-the-sociopath/

12 lines beginning with one syllable. Then adding one syllable with each line. 1 thru 12

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in 1 thru 12 The True Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 1 thru 12 The True Story

  1. Judy Roney says:

    Wow, this tears me up. Wonderful interpretation of such sadness. http://judyidliketosay.blogspot.com/2011/03/vision.html

    Hello Judy. As a former battered woman, I couldn’t take the poem anywhere else. The image spoke to me in so many ways, and so clearly, I had to write it. I’m sure many of us get pulled that way, at one time or another. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Mr. Walker says:

    An excellent take on the visual prompt. You work elements of the art into the poem well – and comment on the silent nature of visual art too.

    Welcome Mr. Walker. I know they say that a picture can be worth a thousand words, but when it comes to abuse, too few words are ever spoken, either by or for the victims of such brutality. Thank you for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Powerful one, Elizabeth. Important subject, and far too many women enduring such lives. However, the spirit does rise, and the After proves life can be so much better. I like what you say about enforced silence being viewed as active complicity. So true.

    Thank you Sherry. I know that silence is caused by many things, sometimes only a sense of shame, and that can take a long, long time to wash away. However, those of us who do break away, do find so much more than just a cessation of the pain. About that, you are absolutely correct.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. pamela says:

    “Your silence never really seen
    as forced upon you, viewed as active
    complicity”

    Elizabeth that says so much, wonderfully written to the artwork.
    I love the form, too, I must give it a try one day. Each line enforces
    the latter.

    Pamela

    Pamela, my friend, I found the structure last night and immediately knew it would fit what was dancing in my head in response to the prompt. It certainly does have a building affect, doesn’t it? Hope you try it, and thanks for the wonderful comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Your poem speaks to me as the photo did. Another wonderful work from you.

    face on the wall

    Thank you Gautami, I really liked your poem as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. This suggests violation, and victimization. How many of us on the planet stand in the silence, weeping, yet saying nothing.

    I also like how you used the form — I will need to try it out.

    -Nicole

    Oh Nicole, this form might prove to be too brief and contained for much of what you do. I love it when you take us down so many diverse tangents but then pull us back to center. And you are right about my poem. It suggests all of that and hopefully more. We exist on a distressed planet. How can it be otherwise, when its most prolific creatures have made victims of their own species, for all of their history? Please let me know if you do try the form, I’ll be waiting. Thanks for dropping by and for the prompt as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. You are able to imply a story beyond the picture. Nice.

    Thank you Marian. I really enjoy image prompts for the most part, finding the story and then revealing only a few, but suggestive details. I liked your response as well,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Pingback: Inspired Poetry

  9. Powerful stuff… and the industrial feel of the location plus the shadows in the photo help add that bleakness to your theme. Love “wants to think you somehow asked for this”: voyeurism taking the place of guilt.

    Thank you Joseph, coming from you that means a lot. The image struck me on a personal level for so many reasons. I’ve been scarce on the poetry circuit, but had to respond to this prompt. Am glad I chose this structure and glad you found it enjoyable. I more than liked your poem, think its fantastic,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. b_y says:

    I like your use of a form for this. Contains the emotion and intensifies at the same time.

    Thanks Barbara, that was exactly my response when I saw it on Kim’s site. I’m glad I went with it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Ellen says:

    I loved this and can relate, we have to move the brick one by one~
    Loved the imagery you used, powerful!

    Thanks Ellen, I’m thinking there are an awful lot of individuals who can relate. And strangely enough, the poem I submitted for the Poets United Anthology was about smashing those bricks, one at a time.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. vivinfrance says:

    Form, ideas, words – stunning. Unlimited praise coming your way for this interpretation.

    Viv, thank you so much, but you make me blush and I thought I was over that years ago, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Pingback: Poetry descending « poetrydiary

  14. Pingback: NaPoWriMo poetry prompt #10: Day 10 | 1sojournal

Leave a Reply

