Safe Place?

 

For We Write Poems poetry prompt: Safe Place
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Safe Place?

Knowing life is a series of risks,
stepping out to take a chance
to dance with all those possibilities.

Yet, constantly seeking safe place,
to relax, allow muscles to become
almost liquid, instead of stiffly alert.

Arms out-flung, seeking balance
of fine line, where one must be cautiously
willing to make oneself vulnerable.

Elizabeth Crawford  2/23/11

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Safe Place? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Safe Place?

  1. This is a really good depiction of the balance between taking the risks of life, but trying to stay safe. Good one! I love the outflung arms and the “cautiously willing”. Life wisdom:)

    Sherry, this prompt really gave me a hard time. I sort of circled it all week and then just decided to start with the contradicition I find in the words “safe place.” I am far from statisfied with this piece, but went with it because it was what I had. Thanks for stopping and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    As a yogi, I related to the actions suggested in your poem… get out there – stretch, strengthen, be flexible – and then find total relaxation to revitalize, refuel. Brilliant!

    Hi Kim, I like your take on the poem. Not exactly what I was aiming at, but your response turns that around and I like that, a lot. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. So nicely put! I like the intricate duality of the poem. And it feels so familiar 🙂

    Hello Mariya, glad you liked it. I really wasn’t all that sure of it myself. Life is full of contradictions and dualities. I think this prompt handed a great many of them to me this week, lol. Thanks for your kind words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, aren’t we all vulnerable when facing the unknown?
    There is such a fine line we must travel in life.
    I enjoyed this poem.

    Pamela

    Pamela, I can honestly say that I did not and that is unusual for me. I wasn’t comfortable with the contradictions and that made it difficult to even know where to begin. But, I’m glad you enjoyed it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, I like very much the concept of cautiously allowing ourselves to make ourselves vulnerable. It could be a risk, but the risk is often (hopefully more often than not) rewarded!

    Mary, something struck me as I was struggling with this prompt through the week. If we ever do really manage to find a completely safe place, it could so easily become a trap and a major excuse for not living our lives. That left me with that delicate balance we must all achieve as we move from safe place to vulnerability and back again and again. It is always a risk, isn’t it?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    Elizabeth, your poem deals with how we are forever poised between “feeling safe” and “feeling vulnerable” because of change. I thought about the prompt a lot too and postponed the writing because there’re so many ways to define “safe”. Thanks for a challenge of a prompt!

    Irene, honest that wasn’t my intention, but it seems to work that way, especially for me. My own prompts, written down so easily, are most often the hardest ones for me to respond to. This one certainly was all of that and more. You’d think it was just the opposite, but I find I’m seldom ready for the reality. OOps, that might have been a bit too revealing, lol.

    Thanks for your comments though, you always make me think,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Wayne says:

    really like where you went with this….to a safe place….thanks for sharing

    And thank you Wayne for taking the time to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. ms pie says:

    i am enjoying reading everyone’s response to this particular prompt of safe place… i can relate to your thoughts. wondering which way to go, i chose a way that was unsettling yet glad i participated… thank you

    Liked your poem, I found this prompt very difficult and I think that confusion speaks into the poem.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. I come to the safe place you have prepared, the sky is a hammered silver, the air is crisp, but there is always the illusion of safety.

    Yes Annell, always that illusion, perhaps because we need it so much in order to get anything done,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Elizabeth, the “willingness to make oneself vulnerable” is the essence of all arts. For me, it was first facing a crowd from behind the ivories of a baby grand, the mic capturing what it would. Now, it’s poetry. We must risk vulnerability… playing it safe is a bore!

    Great work, Amy, and here’s mine: http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/safe-havens-wwp/

    Thank you Amy, but I also think that a safe place can become a trap that keeps us from living life fully. Finding that balance is a life long task,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Judy Roney says:

    You make a very good point in your poem. We do have to step out of those safe spaces and be vulnerable and less relaxed. We have to have balance. Great poem.

    Thank you Judy, I also believe that, it is so much easier to stay in that safe place and let life pass us by. And then life itself might come looking for us, to shake us up, wake us up. A certain balance will help us a great deal when that happens,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. neil reid says:

    I think I’m liking more and more prompts that make us uncomfortable (some?). (However much is enough?) I appreciate your struggle. I appreciate your sharing with us the result. I really really think we gotta start getting seriously more kind to ourselves, to the questions we can’t yet resolve. (Or maybe even noticing where there isn’t a conflict at all??) (Big easy words from me! I got my share I can’t so much resolve, including this in a more personal sense. But then I didn’t so much even try to resolve but merely state in my poem, maybe hope?)

    But seriously, my appreciation Elizabeth.

    Alan Watts once said, a crab sitting on a rock in the bay has no worries about the gulls in his thoughts, but just hates it when that sharp beak comes knocking at the door. Maybe there’s a balance to find in that. Ultimate safety is illusion. But it’s our attitude where some sense of safety might come to be. You think? Thanks for all the words you generously share.

    (Is this the backside of the valentine prompt? Your comment to Irene did make me laugh.) 🙂

    Neil, I like the Watts quote. And your words are memorable as well. When do we start loving ourselves by being a bit less cautious? Blogging is certainly a step in that direction, I think. Actually a rather large step. It might become easier to do with time, but the sharp beak of self-doubt, and the one about safety, never really go away, do they? And that is a good and even healthy response as far as I am concerned. Fear does have a purpose and isn’t all bad. I wasn’t comfortable with this prompt or this post, because I had a feeling that it was far from finished. When I make up prompts, my goal is to find something interesting that will appeal as well as challenge. It never occurs to me, until much later that I’m challenging my own person, lol.

    And yes, this could be the other side of that Valentine post. A certain amount of cautious vulnerability could be defined as self-love. Thanks for your words, questions, and thoughtful responses.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. RJ Clarken says:

    This is such a meaningful poem. I think we all make ourselves vulnerable because if we didn’t risk feeling that bad, we’d never have the possibility of feeling that good. Brava!

    Thank you again RJ. Yes, that delicate balance we must always struggle to keep alive that we might continue to live.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. vivinfrance says:

    Oh weaver of words, you’ve underlined one truth for me: there ARE no answers, only more questions.

    Lol, Viv. Of course there are only more questions. If they actually ended, you and I would have to sit down and stop breathing. I don’t think either one of us wants that or is ready to give up quite yet. Here’s to us and all of our questions. They are worth getting up for each day, don’t you think?

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

