Wordle Frustration

 

For Big Tent Poetry Prompt:  Wordle
http://bigtentpoetry.org

Wordle Frustration

Grind teeth as I attempt
to gain angle on resistant
list of mismatched words.
They rotate, float away,
become ever more remote,
while I grasp after some kind
of handle at back of darkening
depths of inner poetry cabinet.

Hoping only to find form,
maybe some kind of function,
discover instead that I’m over
my head, and have lost sharpened
edge of blade to normal alertness.
Put it away for some other day,
realizing it might be better to try
writing a sonnet.

Elizabeth Crawford  2/3/11

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Wordle Frustration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wordle Frustration

  1. Very nice Elizabeth. What a fun piece, and you didn’t think you would like it. Intriguing use of words!. Still no gas, don’t know when. It’s very cold in the studio. I’m awake, it’s 4:30. Will just be here a little while. Will return to the house, we do have a fire, and Ward has kept it going all night. It’s been very cold here, 24 below night before last. He is very worried about breaking pipes. Wish I could sleep longer….

    Thanks Annell, and hope you don’t have to rough it for too long. But, a fire sounds really good and cuddling is always a plus,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Very Humorous…I enjoyed reading your poem about not being able to write a poem! Is that irony?

    Lol, no, I think it’s called ‘tongue in cheek’. I’m not a great fan of wordles and the words sounded so mechanical, that I challenged myself to use them to write a poem about writing, something that is never mechanical to me. Sort of a carrot I created for myself to keep me moving. And by the way, I also enjoyed the carrot when I was done. Thanks for your comments, Jeanne,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. margo roby says:

    How gorgeous! If this is what mismatched words brings, mismatch more.

    Thank you Margo, once I got past the list itself and challenged myself, it worked quite well. I’m not overly fond of wordles, but that just means I have to try harder.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Elizabeth J says:

    Bravo! Quite cleverly wordled together 🙂

    Thank you, Elizabeth, I’d take a bow, but I’m an old woman and probably wouldn’t be able to get back up again. Wordles are not my favorites, but one has to find some fun whenever possible,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Pingback: Friday Freeforall: This Week’s Roundup of Fun « Wordgathering

  6. mismatched words produced a great poem. No one take away the poet from you…

    tears of the sky fall
    to the ground

    Nor from you, my friend. We do make a pair, don’t we? Thank you so much Gautami,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. I like your take on the prompt! Your use of the words to describe your difficulty and consternation at Wordles was done well.

    -Nicole

    Nicole, suffice to say, some wordles are better than others. Thanks for stopping and reading,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. This reminds me of when my students write these brilliant funny little pieces about having writing block! Way to work through your frustration.

    Strangely enough, it sort of reminded me of being a student and using the assingment as a sort of platform to complain, lol. Thanks Donna, I think.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, a clever poem on the frustration of the wordle.
    Seems their a few of you ladies who feel the same:)
    (I know how you feel about writing sonnets)

    Pamela

    Lol, that’s why I did the wordle. Thank you Pamela, I liked your dream/awake piece very much,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. You managed a wonderful write on the difficulty of writing – well done! I look at a wordle and my brain glazes over!

    Oh Sherry, that happens to me too, sometimes. I liked the doggie photos, they made me smile,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Lnda says:

    Bravo—this is exactly how I feel about words, but I don’t manage tio us all the words in such a creative manner.

    Linda, I don’t think you did so poorly with these. I think I just want to find my own way through a poem instead of using someone else’s words. For many that is fun and enjoyable, although I like and even enjoy the challenge, it never really feels like mine, if that makes sense. Thanks for stopping and reading,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. James says:

    I love how the speaker resolves to write a sonnet–a huge challenge in itself. Nice work dealing with uncooperative words.

    James, I don’t do sonnets. That’s why I did the wordle, instead, and relunctantly at that. I actually tried a sonnet this week and settled for the mismatched list of words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. vivinfrance says:

    We are definitely on the same wavelength today, Elizabeth! Now where’s that sonnet?

    That, my dear, was simply a dallop of poetic license. I should have known you’d spot it, lol. But, I actually did try one this past week, quit after two verses. They always make me feel soooooooooooooo inadequate,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Laurie Kolp says:

    I feel your frustration… “darkening depths of inner poetry cabinet”– LOVE that!

    Thank you Laurie, had to find a way to get that cabinet in there, lol, and still make sense. It worked.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Tumblewords says:

    So clever. If only I could write a sonnet. Really enjoyed this ‘complaint’. 🙂

    Thanks Tumblewords, and I have, on occasion, wished I could write a sonnet as well, lol. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Mary says:

    I laughed at your frustration with the words. I had the same until I just decided to write the words down and WRITE. Your ending made me smile though, and I shall await the sonnet. LOL.

    I’m laughing right along with you. You may have to wait for that sonnet until you are an old woman though, which, from the sounds of it will be a long, long time. Hugs my friend,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Irene says:

    I think they’re mismatched and you’ve pulled off a making poem poem that’s a sheer delight. Nice one Elizabeth.

    Thank you Irene, we have to find a way to play and this was mine.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. Christopher says:

    I guess it’s my engineer’s mind. I have the math and science too. The words were not mismatched, just a different, more commercial world. Still I can commiserate. Wordles are easy for me, but some of the other challenges here are not. This must be what impels the world. Your poem does what I have done at other times, take a step back and write about needing to take that step back. You did just fine, dear.

    Christopher, I believe it’s all in the perspective. For me, taking a step back would be refusing the prompt, either by not doing anything, or simply writing about something else. I didn’t do either of those things. I stepped forward, confronted my reality, used creativity to find humor in all of it, and satisfied my own perspective. Wordles are easy, too easy in a way. I much prefer the challenge of finding my own words to say what I choose to say. I chose to take these words and turn them to my own advantage. That is creativity, which can incorporate math and science, but also move beyond them to a wider place. Thanks for your comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. You gave your frustrations a wonderful visual feel that matches the image of those words ricocheting around trying to escape… maybe a sonnet can serve as the box to keep them in place. (An interesting challenge: try doing a sonnet with one word in each line. I find it actually helps. ^_^)

    Ahh, but Joseph, you are incredibly good at sonnets, have proven it over and over again. My last statement was a bit of sarcasm for those who know me, and know that sonnets are a peculiar hang-up of mine. I love what others can do with them, but when I try them, what I get is the frustration that echoes through this poem. However, I will try what you suggest, and if it works, I’ll dedicate it to you. Thanks for the suggestion and your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Deb says:

    SO appreciate the humor in this. Thanks for sticking with it for the Tent folks. xoxo

    Thank you Deb. That North Wisconsin hillbilly just has to step up to the plate on occasion. And I will always have a particular fondness for the Tent folks, they have been incredibly kind and generous to my person.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  21. b says:

    *chuckle*
    I wish sonnets were as undemanding as random words.

    Lol, b, I feel the same way and that line was meant sarcastically. I steer clear of sonnets. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. Kelly says:

    while I grasp after some kind
    of handle at back of darkening
    depths of inner poetry cabinet.

    Ah – I know that feeling!

    Kelly, I used to teach others how to find and explore their Creativity Closet. Mine has always held a Poetry Cabinet and it holds pride of place, maybe because of those darkening depths and what they constantly offer. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  23. joannejohns says:

    A wonderful ode to the difficulty of wordle prompts! Love it 🙂

    Joanne, wordles aren’t so much difficult, but rather a puzzle to be explored. Usually I like that sort of thing, just not in this moment. Poetry is dancing and flying for me. Given twelve solid words, I feel somewhat confined by their boundaries. That is the real frustration I am voicing in the poem. Thanks for joining in the conversation,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  24. vivinfrance says:

    “Poetry is dancing and flying for me”There even poetry in your comment responses, let alone your meaningful and accomplished wordle.

    Thank you Viv, that means a lot coming from you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

