Moment of Wonder

 

For Big Tent Poetry prompt: Photographer’s Point of View
http://bigtentpoetry.org

We were to take a photograph, not our own, and write a poem from the view of the known or unknown photographer.

Moment of Wonder

Office party door prize:
two tickets, three days,
four nights at Bellagio
in Vegas. Friend on rented
scooter, as we cruised the Strip,
to see what we could see.

Had heard most of her stories.
How animals, even birds,
understood what we think.
Not the words, but the heart
and soul’s intent. She’d said
that if we spoke inside our heads,
other creatures might bend
themselves to listen.

Had read about white tigers kept
at Mirage. Thick glass floor to ceiling
wall, reflective pool between viewer
and viewed. Could barely see him,
where he slept, seemingly content
far back in deepening shadows.

Stepped close, hope carried like
black plastic camera, fraught with thoughts
of futility. Stilled myself, could sense her
doing same. Asked with respect for just
one picture, then waited in silence.

He rose like a phantom from shadows.
Moved slowly on huge silent paws,
as though drawn alone by our childlike
awe and expectancy. Stopped, looked
into my eyes as shutter clicked, then turned
moving in measured pace, back to place
hidden in darkness.

Turned to her with foolish grin, amazement
mirrored on her knowing face, as we hugged
to ourselves, this singular moment of given
grace, and wonder in priceless magic.

Elizabeth Crawford  1/28/11

Photo by S. Mundy

Poets United interviewed me for their Life of a Poet Series. You can read the interview here:
http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2011/01/life-of-poet-elizabeth-crawford.html#more

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Moment of Wonder and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Moment of Wonder

  1. Jade says:

    Elizabeth, 🙂 I love the connection you’ve expressed here and how the poem’s beginning builds up towards the photographed moment and the closeness. Really well done!

    Thank you Jade. I have loved this photo forever. And the story behind it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. This is amazing! I love this little tale of awakening. Thanks

    Annell, I’ve had other experiences like it. Never feel anything but sheer awe. Learned about the connection in a little book titled Kinship With All Life. Don’t know the author anymore, sorry. Oh, by the way, I was the one on the scooter. Have always wanted to write about it and the prompt sort of walked me into that. Took some work and the poem still needs more tweaking, but I’m glad I tried. Thanks for all of your words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. This too evokes so much in my mind. Like the connectivity.

    singular thoughts

    It was an amazing moment. Thank you, Gautami,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. “this singular moment of given grace”….yes. What a wonderful memory!

    He is something else, isn’t he? I swear he posed for her. I think we were both holding our breath. Thanks Sherry,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. pamela says:

    Elizabeth, I felt as if I were in Vegas at the show.
    Wonderful picture you have painted here.
    Pamela

    Pamela, it was an odd time of day, the streets were packed with people, yet no one else was there. Just the two of us and this magnificent creature. It was wonderful. Thanks for your kind words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. RJ Clarken says:

    What an interesting approach to the photograph and the poem. It definitely was a moment of wonder!

    RJ, although this is a true story, I was not the photographer. However, she and I have talked of it since, and I doubt either one of us will soon forget it. Thanks for your comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Tumblewords says:

    An interesting and well-crafted pov. Enjoyed the read!

    Tumblewords, thank you and glad you enjoyed it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. vivinfrance says:

    There’s a mystical feel to this. I loved the thought that animals can hear and understand our thoughts. I was thinking salong those lines this morning: a robin on the verandah was looking disconsolate – all the crumbs and seeds had already been eaten by earlier birds. Normally they fly away in terror if I open the sliding door. Today, the robin stayed put, head on one side, knowing I had come out with more seeds, specially for him.

    Viv, I have long believed that wild creatures can somehow know our intent. I’ve had too many of these kinds of encounters not to believe that. And yes, mystical is a good word for that contact. That doesn’t mean I don’t respect their capacities to defend themselves, but I try to remain calm and send good vibes. It works and I have had them approach me, seemingly drawn to do so. But, always it is a surprise and I feel the awe of a child bubble up inside of me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. I liked the way you built up to the tiger–the cruise down the strip, the birds and animals that understand us–and then, the climax.

    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/01/28/perfect-family-big-tent-poetry/

    Victoria, it wasn’t difficult, it’s a true story and I was there. I just wasn’t the one wielding the camera. I didn’t quite know how to get into the prompt otherwise. And this photo has always meant a great deal to me because of the story behind it. Thanks for visiting and for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Laurie Kolp says:

    Exciting and captivating piece, and a great read. I was on the edge of my seat.

    Hi Laurie. Can I ask why you were on the edge of your seat? That wasn’t my intent. Just wanted to tell the story behind the photo. I’m just curious. Thanks for your comments, and glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. James says:

    I like the sense of wonder you maintain throughout this. First the wonder of the idea of animals listening and then the wonder and awe of the apparent connection. Nice.

    Great interview too. I especially liked this, which really resonated with me: “each poem was a lot like finding home between the margins of that blank sheet of paper”

    Thank you much James. I look at the pic and still feel the wonder of that moment. And thanks for taking the time to read the interview. Glad you found something to take away with you. I was honored to be invited and happy, but nervous, all at the same time. Sherry really made it quite easy. I meant what I said. If home is the true center of our inmost being, then each of my poems comes from that place, space and sense of being.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Mark says:

    What a great way to tell a story. So well realized. Great flow…

    Thank you Mark, it was a wonderful moment to be alive.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Deb says:

    It’s a beautiful moment — so very glad to have been able to share it. Thank you!

    I had a bit of a problem with the prompt until I remembered this photo and the story behind it. And thanks for stopping and for your kind words, Deb, always appreciated,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Deb says:

    Fascinating interview, Elizabeth! You shared so many rich and personal thoughts. Thank you for linking, so we could read!!!

    And thank you for taking the time to do so. I enjoyed doing it and Sherry is so enthusiastic that it wasn’t at all difficult to share my thoughts and feelings with her,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

