Soul of Wanting

 

For We Write Poems prompt:  I want
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Soul of Wanting

When I think of speaking those two words aloud,
letting them stand out there alone,
uncovered
naked,
the birds in my chest
fly furiously off in opposite directions.

Small speckled hen huddles
beneath eaves of long ago attic.
Trying to disappear into shadows,
all energies bent to still
uncontrollable shivering.

While eagle mounts up.
Daring sky to refuse its climb
toward the sun,
on fully stretched wings
of Ambition Bird fledgling.

Sit in chair cross-legged.
Only aware of these two
in constant conflict.
Restricting all movement,
until soul steps in
begins to bargain,
soothing one,
while encouraging the other.

Elizabeth Crawford  12/22/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Soul of Wanting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Soul of Wanting

  1. brenda w says:

    Oh Elizabeth, The birds in the heart set to fluttering set mine fluttering. You’ve captured a feeling. Want? Me? This is lovely and soulful. ~Brenda

    Thank you Brenda, I didn’t quite know what to do with the prompt, yet when I began, I just started writing. Scratched all of that away because I kept seeing the hen huddled in shadows, and the eagle soaring through sunlight. They both have a special significance for me. Glad you saw it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Beautiful poem.

    As was yours Flying Monkey. Thank you for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. pamela says:

    Elizabeth you do have a way with words. The last stanza is simply beautiful. “soothing one, while encouraging the other”
    I am wishing a love filled holiday for you and yours.
    Pamela

    Pamela, thank you for your way with words. Glad you liked it, and my wish is the same for you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    may your wishes soar to hearing ears and be answered.

    Viv, I want the same for you and yours. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. neil reid says:

    A so very apt title to this poem Elizabeth, and well developed within the poem. “Want” is one of those fundamental words, so simple at first glance yet ripe within its application and expression, as your poem here looks toward getting closer to the “soul” of want. I appreciate your effort. And actually I’m pleased that initially you didn’t know what to do with this prompt. I think I take that as good omen, and you did look then see something essential for yourself. That’s much of what I hope for each poem to find. And thanks for sharing that (and allowing the conflict to become visible, maybe even more at peace). I take it as a gift when someone is willing to share a sense and experience in that way.

    And I much adored the first stanza for the excellence of the image created. Very much! A good and positive image for that sense of conflict, yet also contained the very essence of the resolution to come. Thanks Elizabeth!

    Neil, thank you for your continued encouragement and support. I must confess that I wasn’t even going to try this prompt because I had so many conflicting reactions to it. And once I realized that the conflict was really the same old, same old, and I saw the two birds, it wasn’t difficult at all. There is an almost natural tendency, espeially in women, to pull back and away from their personal wants, put them on hold, give first to others and see that other’s needs are cared for before seeking to fill what they have been told are selfish things. There is some very real truth to found in the stereotype of the bitter old woman, who lived a decent life, did all the ‘right’ things, and was never selfish. And there is even more truth in the idea that sometimes a certain amount of selfishness can be seen as a virtue. Thanks for the prompt and I wish you a warm and happy Holiday.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    The hen and the eagle..ahh..we want to be both. Nesting and freedom. Both.

    Hi Irene. You will note that I didn’t define which was being soothed, or which was being encouraged. I think that differs to suit the moment and issue. I do believe women find this conflict within themselves more than men do. Hope you have and enjoy a wonderful Holiday,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. wayne says:

    Nicely done Elizabeth….enoyed your words very much….”birds” and “naked”….I think those words flew into my poem also…..enjoy the moment…and the season…..CHEERS

    Thank you Wayne. Glad you found something to relate to. I will enjoy and hope you do the same.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Beautiful piece!

    Annell, thank you for that thought. I rather like it myself, lol. Wishing you the best for the Holidays,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. You are my soul sister. Your poetry touches my heart. Those birds, let them bring happiness…and they will…

    Merry Christmas to you and you family!! May your muse be always with you.

    dead woman and her wants

    Gautami, you have just given me the best ever Christmas present I have received. Who could deny that cyber space does not own its own element of magic. You and I will probably never meet face to face, yet we share a recognizable bond that stretches from India to Wisconsin, of all places. Your poetry, your very special way with words, often touches some deep place within me and I hear an almost audible bell like tone in response. And yes, I know the birds can and do bring happiness. They have often done so in the past, and certainly have this evening with your comment. My wish for you is the same, that your muse be always with you, soul sister. May your Holiday be blessed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Ellen says:

    I love the way you wove this! Great poem~

    I really wasn’t sure where, or even if I wanted to do something for this prompt. But, when I kept seeing the two birds, I knew there was something waiting to be said. And I so love that metaphor of weaving and making poems in that fashion. Thank you for visiting and for your encouraging words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. connetta says:

    You seem to be a seasoned poet, very nice work.

    I have been writing poetry for about twenty-five years. And there are many days when I feel I am no more than a beginner. Thank you for visiting and for your gracious comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

