Q and A

 

For Big Tent Poetry prompt  Enough
http://bigtentpoetry.org.

Q and A

You ask, “What is enough?”

I tell you, “I am.”

Might not be enough for you,
but then, you must be enough
for you and all of your doing.

I am the source of all that I am.
Am a sorcerer, with stone in hand,
only my name carved at its center,
where only I may enter. Mentor

to myself, all magic held on a shelf,
I built from past experience.
Am my own apprentice, learning
from the book of my own life.

Always in attendance to that
which is me, but also may include
you, as well as others. These pages,
poems I have written, are my soul

and no one may control that except
me. My magic may be found in words
that surround me, ground me,
in which ever place I exist, show

my face to you or any other. Brother,
sister, friend, or lover, it makes no
difference with whom I dance, chance
will bring whatever I need as life speeds

toward its conclusion. Confusion
is a temporary state, just wait long enough,
the answers will come, then you will find
that you are more than enough for you,

just as I am.

Elizabeth Crawford  12/2/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Q and A and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Q and A

  1. I didn’t want to read yours until I had written mine. You are enough, just right, wonderfully complete. Wonderfully written. And I like that confusion is a temporary state…just wait awhile.

    This morning I have been working on a watercolor of a pair of red shoes. I hope you will have a chance to take a peek at the poems I wrote yesterday, about the coyote and the red shoes. Would like to know your response? Hope your day goes well.

    I’ve thought that before, and I like it. Perhaps the soul is the breath.

    Annell, I agree, the soul is breath. I did take a look, left comments, so you know how much I enjoyed what you are doing and finding in all of your own words. It’s awesome what we can see, learn, and find in what we ourselves create. And the fact that it only inspires more is sheer magic, as far as I’m concerned. Hope your day goes well, too, and I want to see the painting of the red shoes. They have some significance for me as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    This reads like a very rouded declaration of faith. Gorgeous, and so “you.”

    Thank you, my friend from France. It just might be that, lol,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Ouch! Rounded…

    I understood, lol.

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Ah, I did Big Tent too. I am trying to keep energized enough to keep writing. Thank you so much for always commenting on my words. It means so much to me. From this poem of yours I get the message that we each must be enough for ourselves. I am ‘enough’ for me, and you are ‘enough’ for you. We must each accomplish this. Each of us. Just as I am. Just as you are. I do think everyone finds in another’s poetry what we need to find. I found what I needed in yours. Thank you!

    Mary, and I thank you for understanding and finding what you need. I often feel the same when visiting your, and other poets’, blogs. Years ago, I heard a speaker say that there are three directions we reach in. One is up to our sense of God, the next is outward to others, and the third is within toward our own person. I have been ‘trained’, as we all are, to constantly reach outward and beyond myself. That isn’t a bad thing and sometimes, maybe many, is right. But, it amazes me now, at this time in my life, to reach within and find sufficiency. This poem marks the culmination of several synchronistic encounters that came rapidly one atop another. It was written in celebration of that reality. Thank you for comprehending that, we need to celebrate more than just the culmination of the PAD challenge, don’t you think?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Tilly Bud says:

    ‘poems I have written are my soul’ – wonderful line.

    Tilly Bud, this blog is titled “Soul’s Music”, and poetry has ever been that. When I first began writing poetry, I wrote about the child within me, who only wanted me to sit for a moment and watch her dance to music of her own making. Unaware at the time, that she was the voice of my soul, and poetry was the music she was making, I sat to listen. Now go eagerly to do it again and again. It is always new to me, always accompanied by the awe I see in her eyes.

    Thanks for your comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    A beautiful declaration of self. You do find your words to describe everything so well.
    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela, you are certainly no slouch in that department either. This declaration has been long in coming, and may have more depth and meaning because of that. I like what it says and know the meaning and reason behind each and every word. To me, that is amazing, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Linda says:

    Go woman go. I love the declaration.

    Thank you very much, Linda. I love it too, more because it took a while to find it and yet, it arrived in some sort of perfect timing. Love it when that happens, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. b_y says:

    excelsior!

    And right back atcha!

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Victoria Hendricks says:

    Yes, each the magician at her/his own center, a major wisdom secret.

    Victoria, one of the things that brought this about was a movie I watched which suddenly made so much sense that I cried and laughed all at the same time. I have ever thought of myself as an apprentice only, and suddenly realized that I was also the mentor, the sorcerer who creates all of these words with her own magic. Delightful moment of epiphany, yes? Thank you for helping me celebrate that reality,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Tumblewords says:

    Yes! It is enough to be enough!

    Tumblewords, isn’t it a bit awesome how those very simple words can almost sound like magic, and feel a bit like the sprinkling of fairy dust and sparkles? Thanks for reading,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. deb says:

    Self affirmation is a balm.

    Thank you Deb, and I couldn’t agree with you more.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. wayne says:

    indeed nicely described and well written….thanks for sharing your words

    Thank you very much Wayne, it felt like a bit of magic while the writing was going on.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. There is much wisdom in these words, Elizabeth. Worth re-reading from time-to-time as a reminder.

    Mine is here:
    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/sunday-160-el-shaddai/

    Thank you much, and I intend to do just that. You are welcome to do the same,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. nan says:

    I love the last line especially. It is powerful and calm at the same time. Such an enjoyable poem, I wanted to read it over and over again.

    Thank you Nan. That is music to the ears of a writer, especially when it comes from another poet. Have a wonderful holiday,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. So deep, powerful and touching.

    Love the depth in your work.

    astral music

    Gautami, thank you so much. You know that I feel the same way about what you do. I am so grateful about finding this circle of poets on the prompt circuit. It is so enriching and life enhancing that I have to keep pinching myself to prove it is real, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Elizabeth, beautifully written and so wise. Just wonderful!

    Sherry, the first time I ‘met’ you was in an interview you did with Poets United. I loved what you had to say and then went to your blog and was even more impressed by the photos and more of your poetry. But, the first thing that caught my eye was your name. I have a thing about names and their meanings. Your name gave me an immediate sense of calm and well-being. That continues to be the case, so your words here mean much and I thank you for all of them,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. Brenda says:

    A lovely, strong declaration of belief in the self. Thank you!

    Brenda, I don’t think I was consciously aware of making a declaration while I was writing this. I was just following the words and saying what I felt about them. Sort of brailing my way toward my own reality. That is often what poetry means for me. When I finished, I stepped back and gasped at what was there. Almost hit the delete button, then stopped and had a brief conversation with myself. I do that a lot, lol. The conversation went something like this: “Okay, is this true?” Umm, yes it is, but…? “Then no buts, leave it alone and let it stand.”
    I did.

    Thank you for your generous words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. a meditation on being enough. important for us all to do. thanks for the example!

    And thank you for stopping and reading. This prompt sort of put me off for a bit, but then decided to just begin and see what would happen. Was really surprised and you are right, it is a kind of meditation, but I find that happens a lot when I write poetry. Am trying to widdle down the PAD poems now, and finding that most of them don’t need half the words I originally thought were necessary. But still, it’s hard to cut them away, wish me luck and send you back the same,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. I really loved your description of poems being your soul…I feel the same.

    Cynthia, I knew a long time ago that I wanted to write poetry. My poems are the music I make that drifts up from my soul. Gives a voice where no other can. That to me is magic. The magic of the soul. Thanks for your comments, and glad you feel likewise.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Olivia says:

    Very well crafted..!!
    keep Writing My Dear.. 🙂

    Thank you Olivia, I plan on it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  21. sb says:

    Great take on the prompt.

    Thank you sb, yours was beautiful and sad. This prompt brought out such a variety of images, emotions, and enough words to fill the senses to over flowing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. Cara Holman says:

    What a lovely poem of self-acceptance!

    Thank you Cara, I certainly enjoyed writing it. It made me feel clean clear through, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  23. ms pie says:

    and no one may control that except
    me. My magic may be found in words
    that surround me, ground me,
    in which ever place I exist,

    every line had a message but the above really touched me…. it is good to remember we have control of ourselves and the idea of one’s magic being anchored words that we carry around which ever place we are is indeed “magic”

    it is a wonderful poem that sings and soars….

    Thank you ms pie, your comments remind me of the hawks that populate my existence. Their message is always to remember who I really am. This poem is a celebration of that message and a reminder that we can all fly, if we choose to.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  24. Lovely poem. Has the feeling of love throughout, Tender is the word, to describe this work.

    Hi Annell, I know this is meant for the other poem, but when I first read it, I thought about this poem here and realized it also is tender and loving toward self. We need that,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

