Breathing Poems

 

PAD Challenge #30  For Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, write a lessons learned poem.

Note: This is the final prompt for the PAD Challenge. Although this is an old lesson, for me, it is one that must be frequently returned to again and again.

Breathing Poems

Poems make their home
in a soul that might have
holes in it. Words woven

over time, hover there,
create warm covering
from winter wind, which

howls outside, but can’t get
in, bringing air of despair,
or lingering depression.

Would otherwise disrupt,
corrupt a peace, worked
hard to achieve, leaving

only tattered remnants
of things that might have been,
but are no longer. Well penned

verses bring ardor, order to soul
misaligned, marking time, or worse,
believed to be cursed for some

unknown reason. Some unwitting
act of treason, trespass from past
dimmed, doomed to be forgotten.

Poems bring peculiar light, soft
burning candle, handle in darkness.
Beckon a heart to gladness, move

it away from sadness, from gloom,
make room in a soul, filling holes
with words, providing fresh air

to breathe, to live again.

Elizabeth Crawford  11/30/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Breathing Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Breathing Poems

  1. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    What a beautiful poem and so well said. I often feel exactly this way.
    I hope all is well with you. This has been an interesting challenge, don’t
    you think?
    Pamela

    Oh, Pamela, interesting, challenging, crazy-making, roller coaster ride of emotions and images, and dreaming of counting rhyme rather than sheep, lol, just to name a few. Not sure what I was expecting, but certainly not this all emcompassing experience. Maybe a bit of fun, but there was damned hard work as well, on many levels. And all is well with me in the moment. Sort of feeling like I unwound the thread, found the Minotaur and made friends with him, somehow. That’s not bad at all. Hope the same is felt by you, also that you continue to prosper in the coming days,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Lovely, lovely poem. And you have woven in much of the soul, with holes. It flits like a butterfly. All that you said is true, it is an open door and we never know who will come in. Thank you again. And maybe poems are breath, after all.

    Thank you so much Annell. And yes, I believe that poems are the very breath of the soul being expressed into a world in need of just such things. I like the image you have created of the poem as a butterfly, flitting from one flower to another, not staying long, but just long enough to find satisfaction for the creature as well as the blossom.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. And it is breath that connects us.

    To all living things. Well said, Annell. Thank you.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    This is a beautiful culmination poem to the PAD series. Truly it is. I think all of your poems together this month would make a wonderful chapbook. You truly SHOULD consider that. And if I were to suggest a title for the chapbook it would be:

    To Breathe, to Live Again

    I enjoyed reading your words this mnth, Elizabeth!

    Thank you so very much, Mary. You have been both supportive and encouraging throughout this process, and it meant far more than you know. I will put the manuscript together, but would encourage you to do the same. It’s just good practice. Maybe, when we get around to that tall cool one, we could do an exchange, I’ll show you mine, if you show me yours? Strictly speaking manuscript here. That might be a goal worth working toward. What you think?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. vivinfrance says:

    What a lovely way to finish the month, specially:
    “Poems make their home
    in a soul that might have
    holes in it.”

    I think that’s what I’ve been looking for since starting to write poetry two years ago – something to fill the spaces in my inner being.
    ViV

    Viv, that has always been the drive behind my writing, whether poetry or prose, though my first love has always been the poetry. There is no other place I go, where I am more aware of seeing my own face looking back at me. All of us have holes in our souls. I think it is the purpose of life to find and fill that soul. Joseph Campbell said that we are to find and follow our bliss, or never know wholeness. I firmly believe he was speaking of our soul and that is what we must find and follow. There is no truer wholeness.

    Thanks for the support and all of your kind words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Irene says:

    I like the exchange between Viv and you. Me too, feel like my breaths can be found in the poems I write and I feel it coming like breaths.

    I used to tell my students that writing is really breathing lessons. The word inspire means to breath in, and when we write down the words, we are expressing, exhaling what has been inspired. That is true soul work. Thanks for dropping in and taking the time to read, Irene, and I like your latest pic.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. connetta says:

    Such a delightful poem. Love when a poem falls into place like this, with twists and turns and wisdom within…very nice to read.

    Thank you Conneta, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I will put the “wisdom” in my kudo box, but maybe leave it somewhere in plain sight for a while. It might be a good reminder of what I am reaching toward.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

