Swimming Write

 

PAD Challenge #22 For Poetic Asides

The prompt today is to write a poem that takes a stand.

Swimming Write

Seems like I’ve been swimming
through this sea of words, forever.
Seeking a solution just beyond
my reach. Always looking

for some sandy beach, where
I can rest, instead of constantly
testing these waters for something
to hold onto. Something of wood

that could hold me up, give me
breathing space, a place where
feet might finally meet solid
ground and sound of lapping

waves would recede, become
no more than lullaby to rock
tired body to sleep, allow it
peace and a bit of contentment.

Some days find myself sinking,
on the brink of drowning, or feel
little fishes nibbling wishes at toes
or tips of fingers. Yet, I linger,

keeping my head just above water
line. Find there is no other space
which fits the grace of who I am,
or feels like home inside this poem,

good or bad, right or wrong,
I am forever writing.

Elizabeth Crawford  11/22/10

*Also for We Write Poems prompt #29   Swimming
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Swimming Write and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Swimming Write

  1. Well….I love, again, what you said. Love the idea of little fishes nibbling at your toes. Nice communication between species.

    Thank you Annell. Aren’t you glad I didn’t put the shark in there, like I considered doing? This one was almost too smooth, and fell in place far too easily. I actually worry when that happens, go figure, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    Well, I just love this.
    How wonderfully done to the prompt.
    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela, I considered another topic altogether, but this one was just to persistent. Glad you enjoyed,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    I do think in our writings we seek answers. Sometimes we luck out and really do; and sometimes we just sort things out a bit more, but find no real answers. But it is valuable anyway to swim through a sea of words. I don’t think you will ever drown, Elizabeth. Nor will I. Though we may struggle, I believe we are buoyant. It is better to write…than not to..and have the thoughts swirl somewhere unexpressed.

    Mary, I so agree with you. That is what writing has ever been for me. The sorting out of this from that, and you are correct, sometimes actually finding answers, but then there are the times when it is simply satisfying to speak into an issue even when no answers are to be had. Thanks so much for your encouragement and support,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    A beautiful, meaningful poem. So long as you linger, keeping your head just above waterline,
    you’ll be OK.
    ViV

    Viv, I plan on doing that. Writing is my sanity and keeping it intact. This poem came easily and flowed onto the page, like water in a stream. Too easy, so I have some doubts about it, lol. And know you understand that one. Thanks for your continued support,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. derrick2 says:

    Well, this is five of us who think you have nothing to worry about with this poem, Elizabeth! Simply lovely.

    Thank you Derrick, that means a lot coming from you. I do often admire your writing. But then, there are quite a few authors on this circuit who keep me stretching and swimming through this sea of words. It might be a world apart but it certainly does my heart good,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Diane T says:

    Or feel the fish nibbling at the fingers and toes… My favorite line! I sure can understand!

    Diane, glad you agree, it is my favorite as well. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. nimaruichi says:

    Beautiful; I can totally relate. 🙂

    Thanks nimaruichi, glad that you can. It’s nice to know one is not alone,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Irene says:

    Keep swimming and writing Elizabeth. What a wonder writing is. And hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

    I had a ‘full’ Thanksgiving and am still feeling the affects, but thanks Irene. And I do so agree. Writing is a wonder and keeps pulling me forward, even on those days when all I write is “I don’t wanna.”

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

