Right or Wrong Song

 

PAD Challenge #20  for Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, write a “what’s wrong or right” poem.

Right or Wrong Song

What is right for me
might be wrong for you.
Would be wrong for me
to make you do what
doesn’t fit. Like stone
in tip of shoe, making
you limp, instead of stride
with ease and pride
in whatever you might
choose to do.

See you nod in easy
agreement, so must ask,
why you continue to insist
that I be more like you?
Live my life so that you
can be more comfortable
with me, as I limp along
right here beside you,
and neither one of us
is truly free, happy to be
whatever we are becoming?

Elizabeth Crawford  11/20/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Right or Wrong Song and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Right or Wrong Song

  1. vivinfrance says:

    This poem is pure magic, inlaid with wisdom. It reminded me of the thought behind “Why Can’t a Woman be More Like a Man?” from My Fair Lady.

    Viv, this one is a very old train of thought. I feel sometimes, that I have lived with it all of my existence. But, it has also shaped me and made me a person who accepts, more often than not, the quirks I find in others. I’ve seen the movie many times, but that was long ago. Will have to look up the song and get back to you on that. But, I sure like ‘magic’ and that goes into the kudo box. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. I think you might be right about that, “make me more comfortable.” Prehaps that’s what it’s all about? Be like me, hold the mirror for me to see–me. I think we are all a sick lot, sometimes. I hope I can be open, and free and celebrate how you are different, how you are not like me at all a completely different person, strong and tall, just you. Let’s celebrate! Thanks for the birthday wish.

    That’s a deal, we will celebrate. And the first thing is that I believe I’m much shorter than you are, lol. But, that’s okay, cause we little bits are supposedly far less intimidating.

    But, I have had people say to me, “I wish you wouldn’t do that. It makes me uncomfortable and I would never dream of even trying that.” Worse part is that they have no clue what they’ve actually just said. And yes, sometimes we do seem to be a sick lot, but again, that just means we are in need of healing.

    Thanks for your loyal contributions here, it always feels good to see you, Annell,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    Definitely reminds of “My fair lady”, which happens to be one of my favourite movie sound tracks.
    My parents had the fortune of seeing it on Broadway. Well, that was a life time ago. Well done to this prompt.
    Pamela

    Pamela, looked up the song and yes, that is very close to the whole idea that drives this poem. It has been so long since I watched it, but as soon as it began, I remembered Harrison’s tale of woe as to why women can’t be more like men, so that men could just relax and be comfortable. Thanks so much for the comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

