Imagining Lost

 

PAD Challenge #18 for Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, write a lost & found poem. I suppose you could focus on either what’s lost or what’s found–or both

Imagining Lost

What would happen
if one of these days,
I made my way
to the Lost and Found
Department? Would they
have some compartment,
even a box, where I could
join all those other lost
objects: car keys on chain,
clear plastic rain bonnet,
strings still tied in a bow,
folded note with beginnings
of unknown sonnet. Happy
Meal toy, one little boy’s worn
and ragged blue mitten, soft
bedraggled stuffed kitten
with jagged hole in its ear.

Would they even hear my plea?
Find me a shelf, all to myself,
where I could curl in fetal
position? Suck my thumb, just
play dumb, if by some chance
someone would glance in this
direction? Would anyone bother
to look at never finished book
of dangling, tangled verses?

What is the cost of staying lost
forever? Never finding, or being
found, while all these sounds
of words become muffled, constantly
shuffled between ears that sometimes
wish only for silence? But, silence
never comes, while untried sonnet
continues to hum, demanding it finally
be finished. Don’t know of sonnets,
small stuffed kittens, or clear rain bonnets.

Only know to pick up a pen, find end
to all this glimmering, shimmering
self-pity.

Elizabeth Crawford  11/18/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Imagining Lost and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imagining Lost

  1. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    I certainly can relate to this and just love the ending.
    Pamela

    Thank you Pamela, I was following the words and suddenly realized I was building a wonderful little box of self-pity to mail myself, lol. It made for a good ending and I’m glad you appreciate it. Hope you are doing fine,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comment. We never know what is behind the tree.

    I loved what you said in your piece, and just know the pen will find what is lost. In all that is found the words will lead the way.

    Annell, and thanks for that reminder. Some days it just doesn’t click in as swiftly as it should, just wish I could blame it on age and drop it, lol. And I do agree, I wouldn’t be here, daring myself to continue if I didn’t believe that eventually the words will get me to wherever it is I am going. Hope you are enjoying your visit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. vivinfrance says:

    I love the thought process behind this poem, and my favourite part has to be the serendipity collection of lost objects. I hope you finish the sonnet.

    Lol, Viv, sonnets have never been my thing. Did them in class back in college, but only because I had to. Seem to be a much more direct person, gotta get to the subject before worrying about sound or meter. Glad you liked the thought process, I actually enjoyed it myself.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

