Tell Me Why

 

PAD Challenge #17 for Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Tell me why (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write the poem.

Tell Me Why

I must write
this poem
and no other.
Why these words
must be uttered,
rather than smothered
beneath a breath
never inhaled
or given life?
Why verses of strife
and sorrow must come
to shame, to shadow tomorrow,
or the day after that,
or even the next?

Tell me why I can’t write
about a night
exploding with light,
with laughter? Happily
ever after, and love
that grows and goes on
forever? Filled with moonbeams
that skip over lips of deep dark
water, like fairies
with wings, a song to sing
soul to sleep
with gentle promise
of days framed in gladness,
instead of sadness
that stains these pages?

But, you just say
it is time
for this poem
to see daylight,
even while I prefer
it never be written.
Far better if these letters
must be formed at all,
they be tiny, made so small
that no one could
ever find them.

Elizabeth Crawford  11/17/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Tell Me Why and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tell Me Why

  1. Mary says:

    Just checking in here on this night I am having trouble sleeping to let you know I am following along on your journey, the one you are compelled to take. Somehow I think there will be good that comes out of it, even though you wade through pain to reach it. I just have to believe that about such journeys.

    Mary, I wouldn’t be here if I didn’t believe that myself, lol. And I’m glad that you keep checking in here, and appreciate it more for knowing you are tired and can’t get the rest you need. I wish you a peace filled night with soft gentle dreams.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    I have read your last four poems from the top down, and am so impressed by the giant strides you are taking. Your output during the PAD challenge is stupendous!

    Whew! Am glad you think so. For a while there, I thought I was stalling out completely. Was thinking I was seriously stuck. And I think that anyone who sticks with this is bound to find some rewards and satisfaction, even if it’s only in finishing the damned thing. I love a great deal of what you have done, and am impressed with all the other poets who are doing it. It is difficult and so much more satisfying right inside of the process. Thanks Viv,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

