Worth Dying For*

PAD Challenge #10  for Poetic Asides

For today’s prompt, write a love poem. Simple as that. Poets who’ve done the PAD challenges in the past know I always sneak this one in somewhere during the month. And if you’re all anti-love poem, that’s fine. Express your anti-love in a poem as well; it still counts toward this prompt.
  

Worth Dying For*

Write a Love poem.
Simple as that, he says.
And I start laughing.

 Love is never simple, never easy.
Selfish beyond measure,
yet, holding a pleasure
that some have even killed for.
 
Good Book says that greatest love
is to give up life for another. Smother
that most basic urge to surge forward
into more life, give it up, stop breathing.
 
I gave up life I could have, should have,
might have had, over twenty years ago. Instead,
made this space that wears only one face,
and that one has never been my own.
 
Know each line of its contours, have brailed
them in memory that lingers like cobwebs,
that flutter in breeze, yet cling to whatever
would dare to touch them. Brush
 
up against sleeve unaware, then refuse
to leave, no matter what rigorous effort. Rub it,
scrub it, and still small remnants remain,
weaving through fabric of existence.
 
Resistance will raise its rebellious head, but
eventually die before breaking those threads,
because love has a life of its own
and will not surrender. Will continue
 
to burn even as days turn into years,
and yearning churns its way to whatever
conclusion it might come to. So, remember
this, no matter how tender those feelings,
 
once begun, no matter when, or how carefully
spun, real love doesn’t quit, will never remit
its life-long, undying commitment.
 
Elizabeth Crawford  11/10/10
 
*Worth Dying For, by Lee Child
For Big Tent Poetry Prompt Use title from New York Times Best Sellers List

 

 
 
 
 

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Worth Dying For and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Worth Dying For*

  1. It’s true, your words; read, write, and blue. Small remnants remain, yes, they do. It doesn’t quit, and does have a life of it’s own. Deep knowing, lessons that don’t come easy. You are a deeper woman for sure! Wonderful! Wonderful!

    Annell, thank you, I appreciate your appreciation. I wasn’t happy with the prompt and really wanted to skip it, but knew that wouldn’t work for me. I’m not really satisfied with this poem. Maybe things will change later, after time has passed a bit,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. pamela says:

    Elizabeth,
    Love the last stanza of this. A wonderful poem.
    Pamela

    Pamela, although I like some of the word play, and some of the metaphor in the poem, as I said to Annell, this poem does not give me a sense of satisfaction. I was just happy to get it done and behind me. Which simply tells me I need to give it some time and come back later. Thanks for your kind words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    Yes, love lives on. Does not surrender, and that actually IS a good thing, I believe. A commitment that is made stays in some form. I agree about the sense of just getting the poem finished. I felt that way about my poem too. LOL. Most often I don’t go back and read comments to see if anyone makes one. I’d rather visit blogs. And sometimes the back scratching is a bit too much to weed through.

    Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Gorgeous, heartfelt poem, Elizabeth. I sigh for past loves!

    Mary: ” back scratching is a bit too much to weed through.” Amen to that.

    Viv, that’s part of what needs to be changed in the poem. The love is not a past one, but lives on even today. Guess I was so involved in putting the words down that I missed hearing clearly what it was that I was actually saying. Thanks for the ‘gorgeous’ though, that one goes in the kudo box.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. I found your call yesterday, I’m sorry I missed talking to you. You said, you just wanted to say Hi, and of course you know you didn’t leave your phone number. I am usually in the studio from 6 or 7 to 3:30. Call me again if you like, or send me your number I will be glad to call you.

    Lol, that’s all taken care of now. And thanks again,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. I hear the love in this poem. I like it because it visits the scary, all-consuming parts too. Even if it’s a draft, you’re off to a great start with this love poem!

    Shari

    Shari, thank you for these words. So many want to write about the up side of it all, want happy endings, and rose colored images. Everything, including love has an underbelly, a dark side, and I find that love is no different. But, it is in that dark side that love is proven, sometimes for better or worse. Real love only grows stronger in the broken places.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Reading this I felt you wrote it for me…about me…scary…I say..

    electronically yours

    Gautami, this is written for all of us who know that rose colored glasses get broken, removed, sometimes just misplaced in the shuffle, but love never does. Thanks for the comment. You and I are worlds apart but it would seem that we often move on the same wavelength,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Tumblewords says:

    Interesting. I can imagine that you might want to rework it a bit but the thoughts and imagery are wonderfully provocative. Rosy glasses are not impervious to error. Nice work.

    Tumblewords, thank you. I try to steer clear of love poems. For so many and varied reasons. My youngest daughter asked me to write and read a poem for her wedding. It took a great deal of pleading on her part before I would agree. But, I did find a way to do that. Felt the same way when I saw this prompt. But, I had already agreed to do the challenge, so I tried to find a way to say something different. That’s one of the reasons it doesn’t work for me. When I have to work that hard, it shows. Thank you, none the less, for your kind and generous words.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Mary says:

    Ah, I finally wrote for the Big Tent prompt as well. I’m addicted to poetry, I think. I DO like your poem, but the very small font is very hard on my aging eyes. LOL.

    Mine as well, but my puter didn’t want to cooperate on this one. It kept throwing things around and going to different font sizes. I got it this far and simply quit out of sheer frustration. Sorry. But, I am as addicted as you are, here’s to poetry and the writing of it, may we continue to do so, even if occasionally it is in small print, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. nan says:

    Wow. Killer poem. Truth comes through it in every stanza.

    Thanks Nan. My truth, yes. Maybe a wee bit too much? Lol. My contradictions are certainly showing in this one. Confusions might be a better word.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. Your piece really spoke to me and my own feelings, especially the 4th stanza…

    Thank you Cynthia, I’m glad it spoke to you. My feelings start leaping around like jumping beans when asked to write about the love issue. I think that shows in this poem. And yet, I know that it is only one small glimpse of the tip of the ice-berg. We all have so many definitions of that state of being. There is a new book out titled “The 5 Languages of Love.” Wonder if it has a dictionary as an appendex. That might actually be helpful, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. Deb says:

    The internal rhymes work beautifully in the structure of this love poem.

    Thanks Deb. That is a good thing. The internal rhyming often allows many different contrasts to stand next to one another. And I think that often makes for the best kind of poetic image. It allows a certain music and flow, yet can easily slow you down for other thinking. Thanks for the prompt, it was a really good one,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Diane T says:

    Elizabeth, I loved your last stanza. Love, once , doesn’t quit! And some mentioned the internal rhyme. I like that too. Very effective.

    Although difficult to write, this poem seems to be the one most people are interested in. Or, at least seem to want to comment about. I find that fact rather interesting. Maybe because I am not the only one who wonders about what love really is and if we have even scratched the surface of its full meaning. Thanks again, Diane, for your thougts and feedback,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Very thought-provoking. Giving up a life…wearing only one face, not you. How many do that?
    And what would have been like if we’d made different choices. Nicely done.
    Victoria C-S
    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/11/13/worth-dying-for-big-tent-poetry/

    Victoria, at the time, the concessions came easily, it was only later that they were a problem. And, I have no idea what my life would have been like, because I didn’t make those other choices, didn’t even think of much of it as choices I was making. I was living my life, one moment at a time. Thanks for stopping in and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Shane says:

    Very nicely put together. I think you have written about love as well as anyone else ever will 🙂

    Thank you Shane. I am sure there are others who can and will do a better job of it. But, I appreciate your kindness,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

