Within Her Nature

For We Write Poems prompt #23
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

Within Her Nature

2

2:30 am and I am alone with my aloneness.
That is when I call up those places,
myriad faces, she has shown me
over the years:

doe, her smaller companion
seemingly glued to her side,
racing, legs pumping in unison,
necks stretched full out
over freshly tilled soil;

cardinal’s swooping passion blood bright
against winter’s gray-whiteness;

black bear cub sitting in center
of dirt logging road playing, trying
to catch sunbeams;

great-horned owl
watching me watching;

white clouds rushing, foaming
like water falls over tops
of distance darkened mountains;

red-tailed hawks resting in bare arms
of near-death sleep, perched in branches
of telephone poles and utility towers;

massive foliage of full bodied tree
rooted in middle of Old Woman Creek,
tall spring green grasses waving like children
gathered round her knees;

bald eagle soaring low over ground,
only oncoming traffic on winding Montana highway;
or another time, dipping below rim of Grand Canyon
to play hide-and-seek with dawning shadows;

lone wolf loping across high mountain meadow,
stopping once or twice, making us aware
of her awareness;

deep vee’d silhouettes of turkey vultures,
wobbling eagle wannabes, rocking on wind currents
above rolling ridges which edge Missouri interstate;

small fox running, her fur red-orange radiant silk
against fresh laid blacktop;

black hemmed wings of nine white pelicans
lifting as one, off small Dakota pond, like chorus line
of some famous ballet troupe;

mountain lion, golden in setting sun,
leisurely hunting unsuspecting farm field;

great blue herons and snowy egrets
doing slow-motion non-mortal combat
for nesting grounds at edge of Wisconsin marshland;

bristling bush of porcupine waddling through uncertain
late afternoon sunlight;

small morning herd of white tails crossing road
just in front of idling vehicle, each one stops
at center for an over the shoulder, or face front cameo
shot, before gently moving off into bordering trees;

golden eagle whirling slowly against summer blue,
wing waltzing with red-tailed hawk protecting territory;

dark rushing water racing, falling, dancing, singing,
winding through autumn’s lacy coat of many colors,
gently reminding me that I too am temporary reflection,
one more face within her nature.

Elizabeth Crawford  10/12/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Within Her Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Within Her Nature

  1. derrick2 says:

    So many wonderful images in this tale of wildlife and geography, Elizabeth. Phrases such as “wobbling eagle wannabes”, “black hemmed wings”, “wing waltzing” are a tiny selection from the marvellously rich descriptive passages.

    Thank you Derrick. This poem came about a long time ago. I was actually awake at two in the morning and simply decided to write down as many of my animal memories as I could come up with. It wasn’t even written as a poem, but as one huge chunk of words. For some reason, I stuck in my poetry files and came across it this week while looking for some ideas in response to the prompt. I reworked what I had, restructured it, and realized that I could probably add just as many more from the past few years. Aren’t you glad I didn’t? I love animals and all that they can teach us. Thanks again, for your comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Diane Truswell says:

    So great a poem! I enjoyed every one of the birds and the other natural animals as well. You are SO observant, Elizabeth!

    Thank you Diane, but I believe that every writer must first be an observer. Otherwise we would fast run out of things to say, lol. Thanks for your comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. vivinfrance says:

    This poem took me on a natural history tour of America in a state of enchantment. As a European, so many of your creatures are unknown to me except from books, which made it all the more enjoyable.

    Thanks Viv. Much of this piece comes from several two week road trips I took, always heading West. I’ve only been East one time and certainly didn’t see any wildlife, except in the pool hall where two young men decided I was a hustler, lol. That was during my marriage and long before I realized where my true interests were. I think I have written more poems about animals than almost any other kind. Thanks for your kind words,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. They just keep coming. Another wonderful poem of nature! You nailed it once again! I love it. I will read it many times.

    Thanks so much Annell. I actually posted two poems for this prompt. This is the reality one, the other is an older poem and is definitely meant as a metaphor. It’s titled Canto, and can be found under that word in the seach app. listed in the sidebar on this page. I seem to do more poetry about nature, especially animals, than almost any other kind. Must be that Wild Thing within me, you think?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, we can learn so much from all animals. I believe YOU are especially in tune with them,

    Thank you for those kind words Mary. I know that I have always been especially drawn to animals and that they in turn seem to be drawn into my space. I often, unrealistically, wish I spoke their languages. And yet, somehow there is some energy that passes between us. Maybe that is all the language we will ever need. But, I also think it has something to do with intention. Mine, the Universe’s, or the animal’s, take your pick, lol. I certainly enjoyed reading your two poems today. Thay you again,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. gospelwriter says:

    Well done! I was initially going to do something like this too, the wild creatures as well as our tamer friends always have something to say to me… In the end I stuck with one. You did a great job of incorporating so many.

    Thank you Ruth and the one you chose has long been a particular favorite of mine. I just came from your site and enjoyed everything that was there. And I do so agree that the animals have a great deal to say to us, I just wish more would listen,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. pamela says:

    Elizabeth I love the images of wildlife here. Sorry I am so late getting here. But I did not have my computer for 3 days and I had to use my husband’s which is so slow and was driving me crazy!
    Pamela

    Hi Pamela, thanks for taking the time, late or no. And I know about slow computers, mine has to breath (heavily) after every click I make, lol. It reminds me of some obscene phone calls I used to get. But, at least it is still breathing. Thanks for the comments,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Irene says:

    Yes a piece that is very in tune with wildlife. Not having much wildlife here (fret). A wonderful celebration of man and animal. (catching up on visits)

    One doesn’t have to go far, around here, to find small wild creatures, with an occasional large one as well. Thanks for stopping Irene, and I never seem to really catch up, myself.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. neil reid says:

    Busy busy, said the rabbit not so much leaping, but falling down the rabbit hole. However…

    I appreciate your expanse in response to this prompt. A sort of Noah’s Ark? What is “nature” of nature? I like that a lot. Some poems narrow down, focus on one spot in detail, tell their story in that way, but then some like this, just open the box far and wide, letting everything out and everything in. I appreciate your illustration here of that. A glad part of the chorus.

    Someone once wrote, “We are but a whisper on the lips of God. Yet the strength (miracle, joy, gladness) of that is that we are passed on.” I think that applies right here.

    Thank you for this poem Elizabeth.

    Like

  10. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Neil for showing your appreciation. When I think of nature, I also think of nurture and that leads me to the animals and all that I have learned from them and been given by them. There is a preserve near here and the enclosures are very large and far more natural than in a zoo. I once watched a Mountain Lion having a stare-down with a white wolf there, and was glad for the tall fence between them. The cat finally just turned away and complacently walked to her den, but the wolf continued to watch long after she departed. There is something to be said for both behaviors. There are times when we can definitely lean on our past experiences to get us through the present moment, but it is wise to remain vigilant as well.

    I appreciate the quote and its suggestions, and the idea of words passed on like breath is deeply satisfying. Thank you for that and hope your break from the busyness brings you what you need and wish for,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. What a glorious post full of the wild creatures I love so much. It was a visual feast and I enjoyed every line and every critter. I so enjoyed seeing nature through your eyes – eyes that have beheld some magnificent sights!

    Like

  12. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Sherry. At a young age (7 or 8), I became my father’s fishing buddy. We spent many hours driving through and traipsing around in the back woods. I have never lost the awe that I found there. Even now, slowed down by disability and arthritis, I love nothing better than a lazy drive on back country roads because there is so much to see, so much life that would otherwise be hidden. And I feel blessed by having seen so much of it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Pingback: For Earth Day Challenge | Soul's Music

  14. Oh how wonderful to read this beautiful poem again, full of spectacularly beautiful images to delight the mind………..loved it, Elizabeth. I love all those creatures so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

