Unfound Epiphany

 

My apologies to my friends at Big Tent Poetry. It’s been a rough week with lots of unexpected bumps and curves. Not a good time to try on a poetic form I’ve never heard of and am mostly ignorant about. This poem is what came out when I tried and it is not to prompt. I’m sure you will find good examples of the prompt here:         http://bigtentpoetry.org

Unfound Epiphany

Thoughts flit like nervous fireflies,
alight for a moment then leap away
in scattered flash, to be replaced
by another, again smothered in darkness
as though it had never been. Restless with
energy unexpended, ended by short fuse,
loose and disconnected.

Image of lilac bushes, thin brown arms
branching up and out, spring green buds
tightly packed, folded, waiting for one moment
that will awaken them from confinement, as sun
in perfect alignment gives warmth for freedom’s
blooms, sending message that throws open
windows in closed rooms, allows breezes to blow
through, ridding air of staleness of winter.

Need such a signal within, way to remember
to know it is time to throw open windows
of soul so scent of newness might waft
through darkly shadowed corridors, and rooms
too long closed, can breathe again. Perhaps sniff
out words of elusive and unknown haibun.

Elizabeth Crawford  9/24/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Unfound Epiphany and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Unfound Epiphany

  1. christopher says:

    I am sad to hear of your life’s complications. I hope it settles down. Thoughts failing like the failure of winter to permit spring. This feels like Persephone not returning to the surface of the world.

    Christopher, I had to laugh when I saw your comment. Staying with the myth and your metaphor, this is far more like Persephone wanting just one more day in the sunlight. She knows the rules, her obligations, and responsibilities, but she wants another day, maybe two or three? At heart, she’s a rebel, that’s what got her into this predicament. Sometimes, it just feels so good to say, “No, not today, maybe tomorrow.” One cannot always be what others want and expect. There is a need to be just what one is. And she does love the scent of lilacs.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Elizabeth, I understand those times of thoughts flitting like nervous fireflies. I am sorry about the bumps and curves. I hope that you will be able to throw open those windows very, very soon. Thinking of you.

    Thank you Mary, for your thoughts and concerns. Two major issues coming at me simultaneously is about one too many, lol. The world won’t come to an end because I take a day off and play quietly. Right now, I am taking care of me and that’s what matters. There are some folks who won’t be happy about that, but I figure, that’s their problem. I’m doing what I need to do.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Rinkly Rimes says:

    Your travails inspired some very generous verses.

    Thank you for your generous encouragement. I’m thinking I might yet actually publish the haibun I did create. Depends on just how brave I feel today. Taking it slow is the order for now.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Elizabeth, whatever this week has thrown at you, your poetic soul has risen above it. Your poem is inspiring, and I love the last line.

    Thank you Viv, you are always so generous with your encouragement. I think the middle stanza was as close as I could come to the prose description the haibun called for, it was the epiphany that was to follow that stalled me out. Although, I’m starting to hear some whispers that just might work.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. wysfool says:

    I didn’t try the haibun, either. You managed to come up with something good, though. It sounds like spring cleaning wherever you are.

    Oh, I actually did try the haibun, but it got too personal, too fast. Wasn’t ready for that. And it’s actually Autumn here, lots of wind and rain. This poem came as a result of that other try. Aware that my thoughts were tangled and I was beginning to space out. And thought of how that first scent of lilacs meant it was time to open all the windows and blow the house out, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. derrick2 says:

    You have written a lovely poem nevertheless, Elizabeth. I decided to add photos to mine to add some interest! I hope you have better weeks to come.

    Thank you Derrick and I am definitely hoping for the same. Pictures wouldn’t help me, I have way too many dancing through my head as it is, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Life is complicated it will always be so. Despite those, you wrote a wonderful piece. I liked the images.

    Haibun: seedy deeds

    Gautami, I liked the images as well. Used to live out in the county and the house next door was bordered by a row of lilac bushes that sort of marched down the side of our driveway. At the first scent of those buds, I would fling open all the windows in the house and get rid of the stale air that closed up winter can create. My kids would laugh and tell everyone that, “Mom is blowing out the house today.” It was always so refreshing and that was what I needed this week. Thanks for your comments, they mean a lot to me,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Diane T says:

    Life can be very busy with a lot of unepected curves. Hohtheless you wrote an outstanding poem. Brava!

    Thank you Diane. I did see one of the curves coming, it was the second one that threw me for a loop. But, things are beginning to settle back into place.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. carolee says:

    prompt-schmompt. 🙂 they’re always optional. and even still, it appears the word “epiphany” reached out to you.

    i really enjoyed your description of the lilac bushes!

    Carolee, reached out to me is an understatement, lol. That poor epiphany didn’t have a chance. I think I trampled it in my eagerness to get there. The scent of fresh lilacs is a particular trigger for me. And, although I know the prompts are optional, I really liked the challenge and wanted to try it. Was disappointed that other things took precedence and I ran out of time. Thanks for commenting and for the prompt. Have been reading through the many examples and I find them fascinating. Will go back and try it again, in a better mind frame.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. systematicweasel says:

    Sorry to hear about the bumps of the week, but you’ve got an excellently written post! =)

    -Weasel

    Thanks Weasel, the bumps and curves are looking a lot less formidable at the moment, due to these comments.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. pamela says:

    Elizabeth this is beautiful and I too, am so sorry about the bumps and curves.
    I hope all is well with you.
    Pamela

    Pamela, with this kind of outpouring as a greeting to my day, how can I not feel and be better? I haven’t even been to the BTP site yet to start reading! These comments are so much more than the scent of lilacs. And they mean the world to me. Thank you.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. b_y says:

    There will always be bumps. Take care of one and it makes another. that’ just how it works. (sorry. I’m sleep-deprived). I do like your poem, especially the nervous fireflies

    b_y, one of these bumps is almost as old as I am, the other is brand new, but ironically reflects the other in some poetic ways. That too is how life works. Don’t apologize, sleep deprivation, especially for us “elderly creatures” can do some pretty weird stuff. And may, in fact have something to do with my current tangled mindset. And I do know exactly where those nervous fireflies came from, lol. Thanks for stopping and commenting, now hopefully you can go take a nap and get some sleep. We need you here,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. Always bumps. Marvellous use of seasons to kick-start (re-)awakening of spirit of self and ‘throw open the windows.’

    And it actually worked. I did find the haibun and feel good about both of these pieces. Thanks Happy Flower,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. ladynimue says:

    Take care of your words and let them cheer you !

    Like

  15. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Ladynimue, actually it was all these friendly and caring voices that helped to cheer me enough to actually find the elusive haibun. I’m so grateful for that,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Sorry about the bumps life handed out this past week. The poem is powerful and well crafted.

    Thank you Linda, guess enough stress will do that to a poet. Especially one that truly believes in writing through it. It works, so I best not knock it

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. nan says:

    What emerged was a great poem. That’s what prompts are for. Hope next week is better.

    thank you Nan, so do I. I like the poem and its familiarity. Maybe I had to do it to get to the haibun. I don’t understand, always, how poetry works, but it does for all kinds of things. Aren’t we lucky for that?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. In spite of problems, you wrote a lovely poem. I enjoyed your touch or reality in the last line. I;m not sure about “haibun” either, It seems to be an oriental thing.

    Hello Marian, and thank you for your kind and appreciative words. There are always subtleties when trying a new form, much like trying a new language I would expect. And the mindset, because the haibun is Japanese, is very different from our Western culture and training. But, the older I get, the more willing I find that although hesitant at the beginning, it can be well worth the effort.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  19. Tumblewords says:

    Reading through the comments and your response to each indicates that the bump is smoothing and the curve is opening. Your haibun is stunning, imo. I’m partial to lilacs which bring forth memories, some good and some not, but it’s impossible to guess which one will surface at the first scent.

    Tumblewords, thank you for reading and commenting. And you are right, all of this activity and the words, both mine and other’s, have straightened out what looked to a hopeless knot of confusion. I love it when that happens,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Pam says:

    I love the last stanza in this piece. You have some wonderful lines threading their way down the poem. Don’t lose your heart or your focus.

    Like

  21. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks Pam,

    Encouragement is always welcome and I’ve certainly gotten a lot of that today. And although it’s been a bit rough around the edges lately, I think both my heart and focus are going to survive. As long as I keep on writing and stay ing touch with others who do the same, there is inspiration and hope.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. wayne says:

    I really think you did a nice job here…thanks for sharing….bumps and curves along the road seems to be part of life…try to learn…and carry on the journey…..take care and happy trails…..i think the writing really helps to get through and over these bumps.

    Like

  23. 1sojournal says:

    Wayne, thanks for your words. Writing has long been my way of getting through the journey and is, in itself, a journey as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  24. Cara Holman says:

    Hoping this coming week is better for you! Loved the imagery of lilac buds tightly closed, waiting to be released from their confinement.

    Like

  25. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Cara and I enjoyed your haibun tour. When I wrote the piece I felt that my thoughts were confined, flitting around looking for a way out that was eluding them. Somehow that got transformed into those tightly folded buds waiting for that moment of freedom.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  26. This is so beautiful Elizabeth. There’s something very spiritual about this piece. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  27. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Uma, I would guess that anyone seeking within is searching for the spiritual plane. But then, I do have that sense about poetry much of the time. It is a different plane and also has that spiritual feel about it. Your night blooms had a similar feel as well. Thank you very much for that observation.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

