A Different Seeking

For We Write Poems #17  Wordle Yourself
http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

This week we were asked to use one of our past poems to make a wordle. Then choose words from that to form a new poem. This present poem is based in a poem titled Sadness and The Angel of Hope, which can be found here: 
http://intuitivepaths.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/sadness-and-the-angel-of-hope/

The original poem was rather long, so once I printed out the wordle, I played what I call word roulette, closing my eyes and dropping my pen point in different directions. I came up with fifteen words because when the pen landed between two words, I used both. My list of words follows, and I used all of them in the poem:

Wordle:

alone, back, angel, different, seeking, hope, spread, thread, door, proffered, familiar, downward, gossamer, mingle, loneliness.  After putting the poem together and reading it aloud, I was surprised that I had written a direct response to the original poem.

A Different Seeking

Alone, angel comes, spreading
gossamer wings over shadows
of loneliness, threading hope
through familiar door, now
left ajar, meant to invite
different type of seeking.

No longer a back downward
defense, but proffered intent
of words invented to mingle.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/31/10
 

 
About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Different Seeking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Different Seeking

  1. Mary says:

    A very nice poem, Elizabeth. Thank you for already commentng on mine. Wordles are not my favorite kind of writing, but I am getting used to them. I could not figure out how to print the form out, so I had to be content with just the list of words.

    I liked picturing the angel spreading gossamer wings over shadows of loneliness. A wonderful image!

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Mary,

    I remember our conversation on the original poem and how we agreed that some poems just need to be left where they are. I find the imagery in this one was more me trying to find a balance with that first one. It just surprised me that the words I chose with my eyes closed did just that.

    I don’t mind the Wordles and kind of find them a challenge, sort of like a word jig-saw puzzle. When I went to the site, I found the print command at the very bottom of the page, and did that by accident, I might add. But, I understand your feelings about them. Hit me on the wrong day, and I’d probably just shake my head and go read a suspense novel instead.

    Thanks for stopping and again for every thing else,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. I really liked this poem. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  4. 1sojournal says:

    thoughtslaybare, thank you and I really like your ID. What a wonderful way of saying who you really are.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. pamela says:

    Elizabeth this to me is a poem of hope!
    I love `gossamer wings over shadows
    of loneliness`
    Beautiful
    Pamela

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Pamela, I really think my subconsious was hard at work trying to make a different ending for that angel in the original piece. There were well over a hundred words in the first poem. What are the odds, that when I closed my eyes and dropped that pen point, these fifteen would be the ones that I chose? I love it when that happens. Thanks for commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Peggy Goetz says:

    Elizabeth I like the result of your wordle very much. Also am impressed by the overall quality of all the work you have here on your blog. I just recently joined Poets United and see you are in my group. (and I think you visited my blog as well–I have been away for a few days and did not have computer access so I am still feeling new here.)

    I live in S Calif and have been writing poetry about 10 years or so. My first book of poetry and photos was published this year (Africa Unfinished–link on my blog http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/) I left my career as a feature writer at a local newspaper in 2006 and have been doing free lance work now and then since. I have two grown children and a grandson and of course my husband of many years.

    Like

  8. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Peggy and yes we are in the same group at Poets United. I really like that site and only found it less than three weeks ago. So we share newness as well. Actually, I’ve only been responding to the poetry prompts for about two months, but what a world I have stumbled into. I love it and its been like getting a new lease on life.

    I’m in Wisconsin and don’t travel much at this point in time. Am single and have four children, only one who lives nearby. Thanks for the compliments on my work and the site. I have thought, for some time, that I am a quasi-hermit, but am changing that view rapidly since finding these wonderful poets and hanging with them. Will probably see you soon, on your site,

    ELizabeth

    Like

  9. I like what the words do here. Like a gossamer dream….

    pitching forward

    Thank you, gautami, I’m glad I did this wordle, it satisfied a lot of places inside of me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  10. Mary says:

    Well, Elizabeth I just decided to bring up my Wordle and then take a photo of it and use that with my poem. It worked. On looking at your poem again, I really like ‘words invented to mingle’ too.

    Like

  11. 1sojournal says:

    Mary, so glad you found a way to make it work. And would you belive that I had pretty much finished the poem when I realized that I’d forgotten to use the word mingle? But, by then I knew where the poem was going and realized that is how I feel about having found this space and place and being able to mingle with so many really good poets. It made perfect sense to me, lol. I’ll came take a look at your wordle, okay?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  12. HOL-EE COW!!!!!! This is really beautiful……….love the angel coming, “spreading gossamer wings over shadows of loneliness”. WOW! and “meant to invite different type of seeking”. Makes one think, not easy at my advanced age, ha ha!

    Like

  13. 1sojournal says:

    I love it! That’s two holee cows in the past two days. Am beginning to think that my back of the woods might be a whole wider place than I was imagining, lol. And what exactly is your ‘advanced’ age? I’m 64 and this is what I do to make sure my mind stays alert and active. And hope I can continue doing it til the last breath. And thank you Sherry, for your comments and enthusiasm. You picked my two favorite places in the poem. My third one is that last line.

    You don’t have to tell, but I really think we older farts need to stick together, and I really like WOW!!! Lol,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Elizabeth, if you wish you can any use any of my poems in a wordle and write a poem. Or two.

    Like

  15. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you gautami, hope you know you just saved my butt for tomorrow. You may do the same with one or more of mine at any time,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  16. Again I like what you’ve done.

    Like

  17. 1sojournal says:

    Annell, I was a bit reluctant to post this one. Although it was personally satisfying to me to find that particular conclusion, I thought the poem itself might be what many would consider fluff, close to that. But, poetry is always a risk and it’s best to remember that I have absolutely no control over anyone else’s response. And that thought always feels like a face full of cold water, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. nan says:

    I too liked Gautami’s original poem, and this was a really neat idea to take the words and make a new poem. The process and the poems reminded me of a kaleidescope turning, and the bits of glass form a new beautiful sight on a few turns.

    Like

  19. 1sojournal says:

    Nan, thank you, I really like that idea and image for what happened with these words and poems. They are strikingly different buy somehow harmonize with one another.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

