Circles For Little One

This weekend, I and my younger sister, are throwing a baby shower/family gathering for my middle daughter and her husband who are expecting their first child in September. This poem is not a response to any prompt. It is my gift, among many, to my daughter, her coming daughter, and our continued circle of circles. (Wordle follows)

Circles For Little One

They say that the shape
of a circle is one that small
children come to know early.

A curved line that moves
both back and forward
to complete itself,

yet, encloses all space
between itself and whatever
path it travels.

Today, Little One, you
are the center, both dream
and hope of family circle that gathers

in celebration of your longed
for delivery, as you rest in curve
of your Mother’s belly.

Safe in embrace of circle of her womb,
as she once rested in my own,
while I dreamed of her coming.

She it is who now dreams
of holding you, giving you nurture
that will feed your dreams,

which in turn will begin
yet another circle, while completing
the one begun when she, herself

rested at center of my curving.
It was then I wrote words addressed
to only her, formed in the curves

of my first ever poem. Spoke to her
in letters of the awe in which I held
her coming, my gift from the Universe.

A precious gift I still cherish, as she softly
runs a palm over the circumference
which holds you and the gifts you bring

into our circle.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/20/10

For Big Tent Poetry prompt:  Wordle
http://bigtentpoetry.org

Read no more than three of the current responses and words began to whisper, fingers to itch…so here’s my Wordle.

Dreaming Zeroes

Dry summer stream bed
no more than blown dust,
cracked earth that begs
to be moistened, if only
for a moment.

Cars stream past in late night
ribbon of silk-like colors,
flashing lights blown forward
by deep need to be somewhere
else.

Never noticing single pineapple
plant, that clings to life half-baked
dreams aimed at fruition from
once whole pots filled long ago
with rich dark soil.

Plastic hose left abandoned
to other dreams of being someone
different, better, moving along
another stream, flowing ribbon
to yet, somewhere else.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/20/10

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Circles For Little One and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Circles For Little One

  1. Paul Oakley says:

    Delightful! And reverent. Encompassing the whole in the circle, your gift to the universe. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this gift to your daughter and granddaughter with us here under the Big Tent.

    I’m excited. You wouldn’t guess that this is my 8th grandchild, but it’s her first, so it does hold that element of anticipation and wonder. Glad you enjoyed the poem,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    Elizabeth, you have done it again: moved me to tears. I know exactly where you are coming from, and empathise totally.

    Viv, couldn’t wait to get here and see what you had to say, lol. I love the poem, and am looking forward to the event. Frosted cupcakes yesterday and wrapped gifts and surprises. More preparations today. This will be our first family gathering since Mom passed away and we are all eager to get together. Now, just have to hope it doesn’t rain.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. derrick2 says:

    A lovely meditation on the wholeness of our being and the circle of life, Elizabeth. I hope you have a super gathering.

    Thank you Derrick. Am particularly looking forward to the bonfire afterward. Seemed to have missed those this summer.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Beautiful poem of remembrance and looking forward, Elizabeth. Interesting that you wrote your first poem as you dreamed of your daughter’s arrival years back…and now SHE is having her own daughter. So much to be celebrated in life’s circles.

    Mary, that realization of that first poem, was what got me started thinking about all of the circles of life, and was the reason I wrote this one. Thank you for noticing,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. This is so beautiful…..yes it is gift for your daughter, grand daughter. The circle continues…

    dances of the zeroes

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Gautami,

    thank you and when I framed the poem, I decorated it with a dance of circles, filled with hearts. It was fun.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. systematicweasel says:

    Both were very enjoyable to read! Congrats on the new addition to your family!

    -Weasel =)

    Weasel, thanks, glad you enjoyed them and I am certainly looking forward to this addition, been waiting a long time, lol.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. Diane T says:

    I lovw the connection between the first poem and the second. Beautiful!

    Thank you, Diane. the first one was written two weeks ago. The second only this morning after I began to read everyone else’s responses. Glad you enjoyed them,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. gospelwriter says:

    two beautiful poems – an ode to the circle of life, the first, a subject that grabs me again and again it its arms… and I want to whisper, welcome, welcome to the new one, already so loved

    loved the final stanza especially of dreaming zeroes

    as Diane said, definitely a connection between the two poems

    Like

  10. 1sojournal says:

    Ruth,

    didn’t really see the connection until Diane’s comment and then went back and read it again. Thanks to both of you for calling my attention to it. What I saw was the fullness of the first, and the emptiness almost, present in the second one. The movement and the repeats expeciallly of the ribbon flowing and the dreams that pull us away from the places we’ve been, taking us to the places we are now in, and the equation between circles and zeroes, some full while others appear empty. Whew! Not exactly intended but kinda neat none the less. And of course, the dreams mentioned in both.

    Thanks for helping me see more clearly once again,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  11. pamela says:

    Elizabeth these are both wonderful poems
    but the first about your grandchild coming is absolutely
    captivating and thanks so much for your celebration of life!
    Pamela

    Like

  12. 1sojournal says:

    Hi Pamela,

    I like the poem myself and only hope my daughter does as well. We shall see tomorrow. Thanks so much for taking time to read and comment. It means a lot,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  13. b_y says:

    I like your variation on the wordle. deep need to be somewhere else

    I seem to sense that a lot in individuals who seem somehow impatient even when they are supposedly having a good time. Always swiveling the eyes to see if something else is in the offing. And no, I don’t just mean when they are talking to me, but to one another, or across the room. And I have to wonder what I might have abandoned before it came to fruition.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  14. Rallentanda says:

    Cars stream past in late night ribbon of silk is a lovely image.Also the abandoned plastic hose has a significance perhaps symbolic of those leaving to find a better life elsewhere

    or a wish or wisp of a dream only glimpsed while watering that single pinapple plant? Thanks Rallentanda, you caught the sense of what I was trying to get at.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  15. Linda says:

    I love the image of a circle–always returning to the beginning. The repetition of a circle, in your poem, breathes a fullness of life and a palpable warmth.
    Powerful, though provoking lines in the second poem: ….moving along
    another stream, flowing ribbon
    to yet, somewhere else.

    Like

  16. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Linda,

    the first poem was all about those ongoing connections, while the second was about disconnecting, but together they both speak of that back and forward movement possible in any circle or cycle of life.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  17. A beautiful poem Elizabeth, the way you have used the image of circles…

    Uma, thank you, I like beautiful and I saw all of the circles of relationship and built the poem around them, ummm another circle.
    Thanks for stopping and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  18. wayne says:

    connected nicely and well written …thanks for sharing your words

    Like

  19. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Wayne, I particularly like yours as well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  20. Irene says:

    Hi Elizabeth,

    Your wordle poem is so lyrical. I like the movement of the imagery leading to the desire for “somewhere else”. Also the idea of potted dreams: “dreams aimed at fruition from
    once whole pots filled long ago
    with rich dark soil.

    And yes the circle is endless. You’ll be a happy grandmother soon.

    Like

  21. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you, Irene,

    I like lyrical, sounds like music rolling off the tongue. The words themselves suggested the imagery and I liked that particular set of lines myself. And I am happy for my daughter, she has waited a long time for this.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  22. derrick2 says:

    Enjoyed your wordle poem, Elizabeth. Each entity searching, longing for/to be something more.

    Thank you Derrick, I seem to sense a lot of that arround me at times. Yet, personally think that just being me, knowing what that is, is a lifetime endeavor I might never finish.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  23. nan says:

    So many wonderful comments already on both poems – I can only echo. I enjoyed both and congratulate you on your enlarging family circle.

    Like

  24. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you Nan,

    and I am off to help set up for the festivities. It should be fun and when I spoke with her, last night, my daughter seemed to think the same.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  25. Kelly says:

    I like your choice of three-line stanzas in the first one, which seems to give it a nice balance, reflecting the grandmother-daughter-granddaughter triad; a circle of three.

    The imagery in Dreaming Zeroes creates such a lonesome, restless feeling. Good work.

    Kelly, I didn’t think about the three line stanza and the connection when I started writing. The first stanza fell that way and so I continued. When it was done, however, I saw it and sort of smiled, because my subconscious knew what to do and did it.

    And, although I wrote it, I’m not sure how I actually feel about Dreaming Zeroes because of that lonely restless feeling, lol. Thanks much for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  26. Deb says:

    It’s a beautiful gift to your family, loving and commemorative. I hope it makes its way into a little book, or art paper, or something that will archive it physically.

    Enjoy your celebration with your own Mom’s echoing love infusing you all!

    Wordle: ha! Love it when we all inspire each other. Your Wordle poem is lovely, too. I like the ribbons and streams as consistent ideas floating through, to ground the ideas.

    Deb, I know I say this to you everytime, but I can’t thank you enough for the prompts and the site. It’s made a world of difference to me.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  27. EKSwitaj says:

    I can almost taste how dry the world has become in Dreaming Zeroes.

    Like

  28. 1sojournal says:

    EK, maybe that’s why I’ve been so thirsty of late. Certainly isn’t dry around here, thunderstorms with hail and inches of water just last night, some of that moisture still standing in puddles in the backyard. Thanks for taking time to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  29. i hope one day, ur granchild reads this, and smiles.. gives u a hug..
    coz its a beautiful gift for sure..! 🙂 the circle does continue!

    Like

  30. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks Leo, and I am hoping for the same. Her mother seemed to like it, and that made it worthwhile.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  31. Tumblewords says:

    Both poems are eloquent, elegant and full of wonder and love. Excellent!

    tumblewords, thank you and I’m not sure what to say in response to that, except thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  32. This brought a lump to my throat…such a tender-hearted and lovely tribute to parenthood and grandparenthood…I adored it!

    Like

  33. 1sojournal says:

    Cynthia, my Aunt, who is also my name sake, was at the shower and took several minutes to read the poem, then sighed and read it again. Then looked up at me and said, “You are still singing.
    ” That was a lovely moment, she is my Mom’s youngest sister and lived with us before getting married and having six children of her own. And had six great grandchildren presented to her in this past year. She understood, just as you did.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  34. Such a heartfelt gift. Congratulations to you and your daughter. I hope you live to see the circle extended for another generation.

    Like

  35. 1sojournal says:

    Francis,

    definitely have my fingers crossed for the same. My daughter has chosen the name Kaelin for her daughter. However, she said that is only until her daughter is born, because Kaelin might have another name she would prefer. We both laughed because Jessica was supposed to be Joanna, but when they came to ask what name I had chosen, I said Jessica instead and knew that was right. And have wondered, ever since, just how much we bring into the world when we arrive: maybe a name that holds purpose and definition?

    Thanks for stopping and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

