Threads (For Mom)

 

She gave me life
over sixty years ago.
Now we move together
through this final phase
of her journey.
She is tired, fragile,
and often forgets
things, like names,
ages of her great-grandchildren,
or how to turn on
the steam iron
she uses to press
her pants.

I have become
just one more container
for her memories
as she sifts through
pages of years
like a photo album
she no longer remembers
painstakingly putting
together.

She weeps quietly
sometimes, because she
knows she can no longer
grasp certain facts
or how to find them.
Is not ashamed
to ask for that information
as we walk alongside
one another, talk softly
of other days,
when she taught me
how to be whatever
I have become.

Just as she teaches
me in this present moment,
how to let go
things that were once
so important, so heavy
with caring, shows me
how to travel without
baggage, how to forget,
yet not be
forgotten.

Elizabeth Crawford  8/4/09

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Threads and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Threads (For Mom)

  1. S.L. Corsua says:

    “she taught me/ how to be whatever/ I have become.”

    Such sentiments honor her and her love for you. Your bond shows and shines here; it’s a precious sight to behold. 😉 You’re lucky to have each other in this life. Cheers.

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you. This is one of those pieces that was just waiting for me to pick up the pen. It wrote itself and I was incredibly happy to let it do just that.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Farah says:

    This is beautiful! I have missed your blog, Elizabeth. Things have calmed down for me a lot so you will see me around here more often. I hope you have been well.

    Peace and love,
    Farah

    Like

  4. 1sojournal says:

    Don’t know how ‘well’ I’ve been, but certainly have been busy. Just trying to keep up and still retain some sort of sanity, lol, if that’s even possible. Am so glad you took the time to visit and read. I was on your blog a few days ago, but failed to leave a comment because I was called elsewhere. That seems to best describe the tenor of my days at the moment. Will try again soon. It was fantastic to come here and see you smiling at me. Hope all is well with you.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. Susan B. says:

    My mother did not live long enough to forget: I’m not sure if that is a good or bad thing. She also did not live long enough to tell me the parts of her story that made her who she was. I miss her every day. Thank you for honoring your mother.

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    I’m not so sure that any of it is a good or bad thing. It is life, at the moment and I am grateful to have her and the experiences. And I know that you honored your mother as well and can say thank you for that example.

    Like

Leave a Reply

