Splitting Darkness

 

This is the title piece for the first book of poetry I ever put together. It remains a favorite and someone sent me a hawk message this morning to help me to remember who I really am.

Splitting Darkness

Wear a small silver ring
on little finger
of my right hand.
Face of an owl
fierce eyes staring.
Friend of night,
splitting darkness
on silent wings,
seeking what lives
only in shadows.

Rides my pen
watching words spill
from its tip, filling
pages with blue/black
ink. Bloodletting,
getting to the heart
of things.

*Originally published in Splitting Darkness: Poems by Elizabeth Crawford,  1998.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Splitting Darkness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Splitting Darkness

  1. Pingback: Soul’s Music II | Soul's Music

  2. Mr. Walker says:

    Elizabeth, lovely imagey of the owl splitting darkness. Such a powerful symbol – using literally and figuratively – and then connect to your writing “getting to the heart / of things.”

    Now I have to see if I can locate your book of poetry.

    Richard

    Like

  3. 1sojournal says:

    Richard, thanks for reading and especially for commenting. The book was a self-published chapbook and the only copies left are stored in a cardboard box in my closet. However, if you would email me your mailing address, I’m fairly certain I could dig out a copy for you. Just remember it was my very first attempt at doing such a thing, lol.

    Elizabeth
    lilka1946@yahoo.com

    Like

  4. julespaige says:

    Not sure what happened…I think you might get a blank response due to my inaptness…
    Anyway I enjoyed this piece… off to more crumbs…This is like a scavenger hunt with poetic treasures.

    Like

  5. 1sojournal says:

    Not blank and no ineptness. This is an old piece so the site put your comment in the waiting for approval bin. Hope you enjoy the scavenger hunt, I actually enjoyed creating it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

