I Am Aries

 

Pic # 5

Pic # 5

 

This image was the fifth in a series of anonymous images that were used for a writing challenge I mentioned in my last blog. Each time I scanned through the pictures, this one kept wanting to jump out at me. I wasn’t sure why, until I finally remembered a poem I had written last September and put away because I wasn’t sure if I even liked it, or if it was completed. Once I put them together, they both seemed to make far more sense to me. And yes, I am an Aries.

I Am Aries

on fire out of season,
burning bright orange
and red. My flame
dances with leaves
drifting loose from trees,
swirling in breezes
and soft drizzle of rain.

Cold and damp soothe heat,
yet beat it ever higher,
seeking air to breathe.
Used to be able to bank back
to low slow burn, giving winter
warmth while not depleting
light of embers still glowing.

I am Aries, burning bright
but out of season,
and with good reason
fear this fire within.
Might be last spark
to leap lonely arc
before darkness descends
to dance forever.

Elizabeth Crawford  9/29/08

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in I Am Aries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

