Thirst Unquenched

I still go regularly to the challenge of the Stormy Monday blog at Flexwriter’s Cafe (see title poem). This piece was written as a response to the current challenge, and includes all of the images as they appeared within the challenge. All of those images, can be seen on a sidebar page with this title, located just to the left of this post.

Thirst Unquenched

Her dry mouth stretched wide,
like a baby bird seeking
even one drop of sustenance.
One drop in a sea of ghosts
and shadows that dance behind
eyes blind to all but imaginary bars
built to protect, yet she burns
with thirst, wild in primitive
yearning, until mind is nothing
but flame and smoke set afloat
on river golden red with sunset’s fire.

On knees, she digs in concrete
world, searching for fertile
soil, but finds only dried
cracked paint in a desert
where lightening strikes cactus,
and yawning jaws forever scream
from bones bleached white,
like her hope of quenched thirst
that will never know the freedom
of flight, satisfied.

Elizabeth Crawford 2/16/09

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Thirst Unquenched and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thirst Unquenched

  1. S.L. Corsua says:

    Fluid writing. I absolutely love the flow — very satisfying, makes me enjoy reading (and ‘hearing’) the piece over and over. šŸ˜‰ Cheers.

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Hello S.L. Thank you again for reading and commenting. Curious? Did you check out the pics to see where it all came from? And can we discuss that word fluid, or flow and what you mean by it when you use it? I think that might be enlightening to those who enjoy poetry, but perhaps don’t write it.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. S.L. Corsua says:

    Hullo, Elizabeth. By ‘fluidity’ I refer to a “seamless continuity of sense from one line to another” — I quote this from a post of mine where I’ve featured a list of recommended poems, with a bonus feature at the end relating to the topic of line breaks or line endings. Said blog entry is the (current) last one on my blog’s main page. Here is the direct link: http://unguarded–utterance.blogspot.com/2008/11/dozen-poems-this-november.html

    I’ll go check out those pics now. šŸ˜‰ Cheers.

    Just added the link to the dictionary of poetic terms to my favorites list. More reading, but also the kind I enjoy because it offers a tremedous wealth of knowledge to explore. Thank you much, you offer a great deal and I am grateful.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. S.L. Corsua says:

    Er. Can’t find a link to where the pics are. Help?

    Like

  5. 1sojournal says:

    In the far left colomn of this blog, there is a list of pages. The pics are on the one titled images for Thirst Unquenched. Thanks for asking, this blog works very differently from my others and I get confused just as easily. It took me a while to realize that if I clicked on something and found only a beginning excerpt, all I had to do was click on the title at the top of the except, lol, talk about feeling foolish! Now, I am off to look at the link you left.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. S.L. Corsua says:

    I’ve just seen them, and I now have a deeper appreciation of your poem, especially of the second stanza in relation to pictures 7-12. You’ve made a cohesive piece out of them. I’m impressed. šŸ˜‰

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    The Stormy Monday blog is a great way to begin my week. I love making connections between things which appear to be disconnected, turning things upside down, and shaking loose more than what appears on the surface. When I was in high school they defined that as rebellion. Now, they define it as creativity. I am so lucky to have lived this long, lol. Thanks again for taking a look and now I have an entire list of poetry blogs to explore, again, thanks to you.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

