Standing In The Gap

 

Standing In The Gap

Canyon is a gap
between two earthen faces.
Would take a scientist
to explain how time’s
erosion and liquid life
flowing, separated common
ground once held
by two stone faces.

There is a gap
between god and a man,
between that man
and another, between
a woman and her friend,
a husband and mother,
wife and her lover,
brother and daughter,
sister and son.
This space between physical
faces could be said to be filled
with a word.

There’s an obvious gap
between truth and a lie,
theory and experience,
and between a thought
and a deed.
Not so clear, is the gap
between wish and desire,
knowledge and wisdom,
and that one between
want and a need.
These spaces between abstract
faces could be said to be filled
with a concept, an image.

Had I been a man,
might have been that one
who went around tilting
at windmills. Instead,
I’m a woman who stands
in the gap between a word
and an image. Daring with fingers
to free-form the feelings
which fill up pulsating spaces.

Elizabeth Crawford

*Originally published in small volume titled Here, But For Me, There Be Dragons, 1998.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Standing In The Gap and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Standing In The Gap

  1. Susan B. says:

    This piece is one of the truest expressions of your voice: the rythym, rhymes internal and external, theme (difference, Other, artist…). I keep replacing my favorites with new one, old one, some I remember, some I don’t.Keep writing, keep living Your life. Thank you. Susan

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Thank you. It is an old one, but has an incredible amount of significance for me personally. It speaks of a great many ways in which I see myself, that, until now and your comment, I thought were not that obvious. Each time I go back to it, I find layers of meaning that I was not aware of when I wrote it. I love it when one can keep giving oneself gifts that don’t get tired, but stand in the test of time gaps.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Pingback: Percival? | Soul's Music

  4. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Prompt #4: Day 4 | 1sojournal

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Prompt #5: Day 5 | 1sojournal

  6. Pamela says:

    I really love this, Elizabeth. Your third stanza says it all. Very nicely done.

    Pamela

    So glad you took the time to read it, Pamela. It is definitely one of my favorites. I remember writing it in the coffee shop, getting half way through and wondering where it was all going and why the hell I was writing it at all. So many of my poems seem to come from that pattern.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

