A Woman of Colour

Reposted for We Write Poems Prompt #120: Colour Us a Poem http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/

A Woman of Colour

Poetry,
you are the palette
that paints my canvas
stretched across space
where my soul abides.

You are the red
of my passion,
warmest fashion,
and blood of life
which drips from tip
of light blue pen
gone cold ’til
you filled it.

Yellow sunshine
that nurtures futures
of small green growing
things, bringing them,
in time, to fruition.

Deep purple of distant
mountains, fountains
of Spring melt that flow
ever downward to beige
barren land, where
I stand alone, washed
anew in changing hues
of mood and contemplation.

Black as ink
that absorbs all other
colours, then throws
them back at time
of own choosing

in dark mohogany words
polished over time
to reflective shine
that allows me to see

this woman of colour
you have made of me.

Elizabeth Crawford 8/29/12

Notes: This is an old piece, but came immediately to mind when I read the prompt. Poetry has brought a great deal of color to my existence and continues to do so. I thought this one, with a few changes, was worth repeating.

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Woman of Colour and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Woman of Colour

  1. the perfect poem for this prompt 🙂

    That’s exactly what I thought Polly, thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  2. vivinfrance says:

    I really love this poem. I think I’ve seen parts of it before, but you have added more. Terrific.

    This was one of the first poems I ever posted here on this site. Long before I became part of the poetry circuit. I didn’t really change much other than some spellings. But am really glad you liked it,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Ron. says:

    Enjoyed this very much. I also revised & reposted an older piece.

    Hi Ron, I was going to write about my cherry red and black ’79 Monte Carlo, but then found two obvious color poems on this site already. One that hadn’t seen much sunlight (this one) and another that happened to be a WWP poem from two years ago. I went with the more obscure piece, but am glad I did. I still own the feelings in this one,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  4. JulesPaige says:

    There is an internal meter or rhyme to this, like the beating of a heart.
    Yes, I can see how poetry gives us colorful life even if mostly printed in black and white…
    Thanks for your visit and nice words.

    Jules, the writing of poetry changed my life in ways too numerous to list here. Poetry brought me to life, allowing me to see it as never before. I most often write using breathline and internal rhyme, simply because I like the music it creates. Am honored that you heard my heartbeat here, that might be the highest compliment I have ever received. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  5. barbara_ says:

    Interesting tension between the title and the poem.

    Barb, I knew when I chose it that the title could be a problem. I usually write first, then go seeking a title. This one made the most sense. I have, since finding it, looked at poetry as the music and color of the soul being expressed from deep within. I am a woman of colour in many senses. I work with colour often both with photography and hand made art. My ancestry is French and Native American. When I was still a child, I asked my grandmother about the school she attended as a child. She told me that her very first teacher changed her name on the first day of school and would not allow her to use her given name because it was Native American and meant “peaceful meadow.” It was only as an adult in college that I learned of the government practice of removing Native American children from their homes, sending them to faraway schools where they were completely cut off from their ethnic and cultural ties. I have often wondered if the name change was a move to protect the child, or something more insidious. That may account for the tension of which you speak. There is no offense intended, only my own personal history and story. Thanks for the comment, it made me think of many things I had forgotten.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    Well crafted piece, and I enjoyed it very much. I’m glad that you reposted it.

    So am I Misky. I had two poems about color, but the other one was actually written to a WWP prompt about two years ago. This one didn’t see much daylight, so I went with it. I thought about writing a fresh piece, but this one sums up a great deal about how I see the world. Thanks for reading and commenting,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  7. Irene says:

    These really are beautiful breaths of color, Elizabeth.

    Thank you much Irene, I liked your embrace of bluish blush. This prompt led to some very interesting poems, yes?

    Elizabeth

    Like

  8. nan says:

    life blood dripping from the pen… great image! Very nice poem — full of vibrant color!

    Thank you Nan, I love color and seek to surround myself with it. Each color holds a story, an emotional landscape, and all we need do is to lean in and listen,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  9. Beautifully done poem. I love the whole idea of your first stanza, which sets the poem up perfectly.

    Thank you for your generous words. I find that creativity, in whatever form it takes, seems to cross the metaphor barrier between genres. Here I stick to the colors I myself use in art work, simply because that was the bent of the poem and the way in which it wanted to go, or actually presented itself. Sculpture, music, or another fine art would lend itself, I’m sure, but this is one I know well.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a Reply

