A Wordle Mystery

 

For Big Tent Poetry prompt: October Wordle
http://bigtentpoetry.org

A wordle is a word scramble to be turned into a poem. There is a bit of a mystery here, and I did manage to use all of the words.

A Wordle Mystery
What story lies hidden
behind drooping doll
sprawled in dark corner
of staircase? Stiff plastic
fingers holding muddy
gourd, clumps of bitter
earth still attached, plucked
from stall in long ago
Farmer’s Market.

Face turned away as if
to keep secret, purple kiss
that she offers on lips no more
than glossy hook, extracted
from past, all too swiftly
forgotten.
 Elizabeth Crawford  10/14/10
 
 
 

 

About 1sojournal

Loves words and language. Dances on paper to her own inner music. Loves to share and keeps several blogs to facilitate that. They can be found here: http://1sojournal.wordpress.com/ http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/ http://claudetteellinger.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in A Wordle Mystery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Wordle Mystery

  1. Mary says:

    Well, hmmmm, I read your poem and did look for the mystery. Maybe because it is the middle of the night I am not seeing what I should be seeing. I will look back again tomorrow.

    Sorry you missed it Mary. Maybe you are right and some sleep would help, I know it usually works for me. Thanks for reading,

    Elizabeth

  2. Irene says:

    You’ve weaved the words together into a story with mystique, Elizabeth.:) I like the lips as glossy hook line.

    Irene, thanks for stopping and commenting. That was a last minute accident and I kind of like it myself, lol.

    Elizabeth

  3. Forlon, forgotten. A story of many lives..

    extraction

    Thank you Gautami, I would have to agree with that,

    Elizabeth

  4. derrick2 says:

    Worthy of a Miss Marple mystery! Such an innocent-seeming item but with a dark past!

    Dark and holding clumped bits of dried bitter earth, as well Derrick, lol. Thanks for taking time to read and comment,

    Elizabeth

  5. Christopher says:

    life is a drooping doll, there seems to be a gathering of us around the vision of the abandoned raggedy doll in some corner…as there is a gathering around the swollen purple lips offered in a kiss.

    Perhaps tired minds work the same way bright ones do, in similar circles. Thanks for reading Christopher,

    Elizabeth

  6. pamela says:

    Elizabeth excellent use of the words!
    `all too swiftly forgotten`
    I love that and oh how true!
    Pamela

    Pamela, I think that line has more to do with my own feelings of late than anything else. Thanks for reading,

    Elizabeth

  7. vivinfrance says:

    Clever girl, Elizabeth. I think we have a CSI case here, better call them in.

    Thanks Viv, I do love those programs, I am a sucker for a good mystery. That is not to say this one is such, just a bit of one I think.

    Elizabeth

  8. Tumblewords says:

    Desertion and melancholy – well tuned piece! I enjoyed this intriguing read!

    Thanks Tumblewords, I enjoy what you offer as well. Desertion and melancholy, hmm, guess that would be about right.

    Elizabeth

  9. Olivia says:

    hmmm.. Loads of emotions here!!
    Very well written..!!

    Thank you Olivia, but this one was more confusion than anything else. I’m learning how to relax with the wordles, and that is fun in itself.

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

